1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help-can't set up mail

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TheMaverick53, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
    Got my first mobile phone ever yesterday - Orange San Fransisco. I' trying to set t up email, I have the option to input username and password and email address, then the only option is to sign in. Not surprisingly it doesn't sign in as I haven't seen anywhere to input my incoming and outgoing servers. Can anyone help please? BTW is there a way of making the keyboard letters bigger, I have about three attemps to get each letter?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dcastnick

    Dcastnick Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    12
    2
    16
    Not sure if youve figured it out yet. Your incoming and outgoing server settings can be found under settings>accounts>choose your account. Make sure to know your providers port settings before you mess around in there lol.

    Your keyboard letters will get bigger if you turn it on its side. If precise button touching is an issue for you consider installing Swype. Accuracy isnt as important as the software approximates your intention, with close to 100 percent accuracy id say.

    Good luck!
     
  3. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
    I only wish it were that easy! I've spent hours going through every setting I can find on the phone. The nearest to settings>accounts is settings > accounts and sync but then theres nothing there to do with email just background data and auto-sync.

    BTW every time I switch on the phone it asks me to choose a network to register with (eg vodaphone, orange tmob etc - is this correct? Seems odd)
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    As far as I'm aware, the default mail app on the san francisco only works with orange email?

    Is there another mail app on the phone, or have you tried installing something like K9 or Maildroid?
     
  5. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16

    Have never heard of the ones you mention, and though I'm proficient on PCs have never installed anything on a phone.

    When I plug the phone to the PC shouldn't it show as a drive? It doesn't of course, which I find with almost everything I plug in since I changed to Windows 7.
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    If you pull down the notification bar at the top of the screen, there should be an option to mount usb storage, that will let you view the phone as an external drive on the PC.

    To install apps, there should be an app called Market (there might be 2, an orange branded version and an official android one, it's the official one you want). Search for K9 or Maildroid on there, hit install and it will do all the work for you.

    Alternatively, there's a web based version here which is much easier to search with than the version on the phone. Sign in with your gmail account and you should be able to install apps via the web on your handset (providing the handset has a network connection).

    The link for K9 is here and the link for Maildroid is here.

    As an aside, the handset is much better once you install an alternative version of Android, it's not bogged down by all the Orange junk that comes pre installed so once you're a bit more comfortable using the phone, take a look at the stickies here if you want more info.
     
  7. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
    When I pull down the top bar theres an option to turn off usb storage but not to mount it.
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
  9. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
    Apps are installing OK despite PC not detecting phone.
     
  10. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    You don't need the phone to be connected to the PC for apps to install, so there's no problem there. :)

    Can you check in Disk Management, see if the San Fran is being recognised by the PC at all?
     
  12. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
    But they do install from PC? 100 times easier to type into a PC I find. Had checked Disk Management a few times before, but still nothing there after new drivers added.
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    The easiest way to do it is via the web interface (using the link I provided above), it will send the apps to phone. If you can legitimately source the apk (the android installer files), HTC Sync for HTC handsets has an application installer function which you can use for installing apps to your phone from within Windows. Not all manufacturers offer this though.

    Try turning on USB debugging on the phone Settings -> Applications -> Development -> USB Debugging, see if it will mount that way.
     
  14. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16

    USB debugging was on. On a brighter note K9 says it is set up successfull. However took forever to type in the pop3 server details as it wouldnt turn on its side.
     
  15. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    Is there anyway you can use IMAP for mail, it's generally a lot better on battery life as it uses Push (the server sends mail to the handset when it arrives) as opposed to Pull (the handset/app asks the server for mail at predefined intervals which can be a drain on battery).
     
  16. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16

    I could but as I have no idea what IMAP is, it was yet another one of this mobiles complications I was hoping to avoid. I consider myself PC literate, but this seems hopelessly complicated, my wife who doesn't uinderstand a bean about PC's wonders how an average person could wade through all this.
     
  17. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
    If I switch to IMAP have I to alter settings in Outlook 2010?
     
  18. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
    Have now tried switching to IMAP but cant find anywhere in the android to make the switch from pop3 to IMAP.
     
  19. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    Which email account are you using? Is it a corporate account or something like gmail/yahoo etc?
     
  20. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
    I've never understood why people use gmail or yahoo when every ISP I've had has provided email. I'm with Plusnet.
     
  21. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
    I now find that the emails that the phone has downloaded haven';t appeared in Outlook so will have to rectify that now.
     
  22. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    I used to use the domain given to me by my provider, however in the past 5 years, I've had 3 different providers so it's for consistency I suppose. I would've had to change my email each time. My gmail account is something like 8 years old.

    That's cos you're using POP3. Do you have a web interface for your plusnet mail? If so, is there an option checked for "keep emails on server" or similar? Also, if they have IMAP settings, have a read on the link below and see which you think you'll prefer.

    This explains the main differences: IMAP vs. POP3 E-mail Accounts Comparison - Upperhost.com
     
  23. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16

    The option for keep emaILS ON SERVER CAN BE TICKED in outlook on my pC, and I have used a windows 7 mobile with the option ticked to leave message on server, I usually clean them off withe Outlook on the PC. How can I set up the android with po3 to leave them on the server?
     
  24. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,092
    3,118
    Scotland
    It should be a server side setting? (it is with gmail).
     
  25. TheMaverick53

    TheMaverick53 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    94
    4
    16
    I have now installed Android v2.2 However, I now need to unlock the phone. I have an unlock code but when I change the sim I don't get a prompt to put ther code in anywhere.
    How can I get it to prompt me for the unlock code?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...