1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support Help deleting browser history

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HiPakeMan, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. HiPakeMan

    HiPakeMan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I have tried deleting my browser/internet history, but whenever I go onto Craigslist, it still shows what I have been browsing.

    What needs to be done to delete all history, including craigslist?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    Welcome to the forum!
    You can go to Settings / Applications / Manage applications and find you browser, then delete cache, if this doesn't help, delete also data (carefully, I think this also deleted your bookmarks).
     
  3. rugmankc

    rugmankc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    59
    5
    16
    Another program you can try from the Market is History Eraser. Has options for more than just Browser. Nice app even if it doesn't solve your current issue.


    Ken
     
  4. HiPakeMan

    HiPakeMan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks.

    I'll give those options a try.
     
  5. HisMusicNMe

    HisMusicNMe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Try this - Open your MyTouch 4g browser - Push phone's menu button - Tap "Bookmarks" - Tap "History" at the bottom of page - Push phone's menu button again - Tap "Clear history"
    ~ I hope this helps =>
     
  6. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    ^^^^^ what he said.It doesnt get any easier than that.
     
  7. John Jason

    John Jason Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #570
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    302
    33
    43
    I'm supposed to have a job?
    Portland, left side North America
    I am accustomed to Linux, where I normally use Firefox, but also have Opera installed. I have set my home page in each to a blank page.

    I have a new (to me) MyTouch 3G with Froyo 2.2.1. After buying it used on Craigslist, I did a factory reset, which means it has the default Android browser. There was also a Google search tool on the home page, which I never used until just now. I installed Opera Mini and Dolphin.

    With Opera I was able to set a blank home page, and I added some bookmarks to the opening page. I can't figure out how to do that with Dolphin or the default browser.

    Today I decided to try the Google search thing on the main page. I entered "rae.es/ <palabra>" to look up a word. Instead of taking me to the home page rae.es/ it did a google search. Fine, I shouldn't have done it that way. I should have opened a browser and typed it in the URL bar.

    So I closed the Google search page, and launched Opera Mini. But now Opera Mini comes up with the same Google search page. I can't get it to come up with the blank home page any more. I have tried deleting the cache, but it still opens the Google search results.

    Obviously I do not understand how browsers and caches and bookmarks work on Android. I want each browser only to open to its home page. Always. How can I get the behavior I want?
     

Share This Page

Loading...