1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help demanded! lol jkin

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HelpDesired, May 1, 2012.

  1. HelpDesired

    HelpDesired Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Los Angeles, CA
    i'm new to all of this i've been looking around the store for apps and i've seen some that say you need to be rooted. i just got this phone a couple days ago and i did upgrade the software to the zv4 cuz it kept popping up. anyway to downgrade or to root zv4? i mainly just want the lg touch led notifications but it says it doesn't have access and needs the phone to be rooted. help with be appreciated :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bionic Chronic

    Bionic Chronic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    645
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012

    Feb 18, 2012
    645
    158
    93
    Michigan
    I use the LG Touch Led Notifications, and yes you must be rooted or it will not work. At this point since you allowed the OTA Update your only option is to try to use kdz to roll back to ZVC/ZV3. Here is the post that you may find useful. I have never had to do this however, so I would not be able to assist you on how to do so, members in that thread could possibly help if you get stuck.
    http://androidforums.com/marquee-al...uide-flash-your-phone-back-stock-kdz-cab.html
     
  3. HelpDesired

    HelpDesired Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Los Angeles, CA
    I've had some issues with that method which I posted about. Any other methods because I'd pay one billion dollars for that lg touch led notifications. Not really but I want it pretty bad:)
     
  4. Bionic Chronic

    Bionic Chronic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    645
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012

    Feb 18, 2012
    645
    158
    93
    Michigan
    sorry, as of right now kdz us the only way available..

    Swyped from my LG-LG855 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
     
  5. HelpDesired

    HelpDesired Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Los Angeles, CA
    Someone posted a better guide in the thread and it worked i'm at ZV9 :)
     
  6. Bionic Chronic

    Bionic Chronic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    645
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012

    Feb 18, 2012
    645
    158
    93
    Michigan
    Yea I knew KDZ worked, but at the time I responded to your thread he hadn't posted the TUT yet. I would have sent you right to the Guide had it been available. Glad it worked for you though, I think they should add his instructions to the OP.
     
    HelpDesired likes this.
  7. HelpDesired

    HelpDesired Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Los Angeles, CA
    Yeah thanks for your help! Seems i have another issue, with the led notifications. It looks like it worked for one or two tries but then just the search light turns on and the rest look like they're burnt out. they reset when i turn on the phone from sleep. it was working really well when i barely got it but now idk :C
     
  8. Bionic Chronic

    Bionic Chronic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    645
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012

    Feb 18, 2012
    645
    158
    93
    Michigan
    Change the settings? It's a little buggy at times.. Mine the home button is dominant and the others look burnt out on the charger then, on a message/missed call/etc. just the search light blinks lol.

    Swyped from my LG-LG855 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
     
  9. HelpDesired

    HelpDesired Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Los Angeles, CA
    Yeah i've tried different settings and mine does exactly the same as yours with the charging and regular notifications. i guess it's fine better than no light notification :) thanks for all ur help!
     
  10. HelpDesired

    HelpDesired Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Los Angeles, CA
    So since I flashed to zv9. I upgraded to rooted zvc for boost but my Swype doesn't work it says it's made for a different device. Any fixes? :X
     
  11. Bionic Chronic

    Bionic Chronic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    645
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012

    Feb 18, 2012
    645
    158
    93
    Michigan
    Well, I am a little confused. You reverted back to ZV9 (Sprint stock SW Version before the update.)? That could be the issue, though I am not certain. I normally would recommend you go into data/app/ and system/app and delete them out of your phone and reinstall it. Not sure, if it will work for sure though.
     
  12. HelpDesired

    HelpDesired Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Los Angeles, CA
    Yes i reverted to the ZV9 but my Swype worked. I updated to the rooted ZVC for boost and since then it doesn't work. I'll probably use this MB v2 and see if that works.
     
  13. Bionic Chronic

    Bionic Chronic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    645
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012

    Feb 18, 2012
    645
    158
    93
    Michigan
    I am guessing your phone now thinks it is Sprint therefor flashing a Boost ROM, could end up with some errors. Not for sure on this, awaiting a message back from Monster. You are the second one I know who went back to Sprint instead of Boost. I just wonder if that is going to be a problem for those who have done this.
     
  14. HelpDesired

    HelpDesired Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    13
    0
    35
    Los Angeles, CA
    I used Marky Beats v2 and that fixed my Swype issue. MMS doesn't work I already tried the mm.myboostmobile.com method and rebooted. Sorry i'm such a noob D':
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...