1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help! Doesnt want a data plan

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kyla827, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. Kyla827

    Kyla827 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I just have a quick question. Im planning on getting a Fly touch 3 tablet with 3g but i only want to use the wifi not 3g. Do i still need a data plan?:thinking: I really dont want one:eek:
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,796
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,796
    35,061
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Welcome to Android Forums, Kyla.

    Just because the tablet has 3G doesn't mean you must use it. The catch might be if the tablet is subsidized by the carrier so to get it at a discounted price you may need to sign up for a data plan. If you buy the FlyTouch 3 retail, then I would assume that the 3G functionality just won't connect, because you have no approved network.
     
  3. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Depends on the carrier, not the tablet.
     
  4. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    On GSM, if you don't put a SIM card in, you should be wifi only and no carrier involvement unless you are using a hot spot. I have no idea what CDMA does.
     
  5. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,535
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,535
    4,045
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus

Share This Page

Loading...