1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help droid newbie - assign custom ringtones to contacts???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by willowtree59, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. willowtree59

    willowtree59 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Hi there... Totally new to "smart phones" and feeling pretty dumb right now ;-(
    I have managed to download a bunch of sounds (mpga) and saved them in my "sounds" folder on my Captivate. And following advice, have gone into my Contacts, scrolled down, and assigned a file as ringtone, then hit "Save".
    When viewing the contact, it shows the file as being assigned as their ringtone...
    And then when the call comes in.... Rings as default.
    Whats going on? Do the sounds have to be in the Ringtone folder? If yes, how do I do that? If no, what am I doing wrong?
     

    Advertisement

  2. chicknlil

    chicknlil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    601
    104
    93
    Female
    New England
    Is the call coming in with the number you have assigned as their contact?

    Once - only once - I had a call come in from someone on my phone who had an assigned ringtone, and it came through as the default rington. Never could figure out what happened there, and it seems to have been a quirk.

    I'd say if you've got family or someone else readily available that would be willing to call your phone again and test, see it you can replicate your issue.
     
  3. willowtree59

    willowtree59 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Yes, the call is coming in on the correct phone number. I have my husband right here (who has the same phone and is having the same problem) and he has called me... Rings as default. But when I view his contact details his ringtone is listed as assigned.

    The tone assigned is an mpga file, and is saved in the "Sounds" folder.
     
  4. chicknlil

    chicknlil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    601
    104
    93
    Female
    New England
    Have you checked to verify that the file plays on the phone?

    I can tell you I have no issue with mp3s.

    If you're trying to do songs and you have the originals, you can put the songs on the phone and then use the app Ringdroid to shrink them down and assign them from there.
     
  5. willowtree59

    willowtree59 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Yep, definitely plays on the phone.

    Are your files in the Sound folder, or in the Ringtone folder?
     
  6. alphadog00

    alphadog00 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    181
    12
    38
    Do you maybe have him listed 2 times in your contacts and not linked to the one contact with the custom ringtone?

    make sure you are viewing all contacts - could it be that his name and number are stored on the SIM card, or in a separate google contact? Usually like numbers are linked and displayed as one contact, but if they become unlinked - the phone could see the one with the default ringtone first.

    Hopefully that all makes sense.
     
  7. chicknlil

    chicknlil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    601
    104
    93
    Female
    New England
    My ringtones are all located /sdcard/media/audio/ringtones ... that's apparently where Ringdroid assigns them by default.
     
  8. pricej636

    pricej636 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    I think its your file format. I had this happen as well, a sound would play on the phone but couldn't be used as a ringtone. Use ringdroid to create the ringtone, even if you don't edit it at all. Use the ringdroid ringtone and I bet it will work.
     
  9. hotTamale

    hotTamale Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I had the same issue. I downloaded a mpg file from an email and the OS changed the extension to mpga. I installed ASTRO file manager (free) and used it to change the file extension back to mpg. Readded the sound file to my contact and it has worked perfectly ever since.

    hotTamale
     
  10. willowtree59

    willowtree59 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Thank you for all the responses. It was indeed the file extension. I downloaded Astro and changed them all to mp3s instead of the mpga extention and all are working.
    Thanks for the help!
     
  11. blueShift

    blueShift Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010

    Oct 4, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    mpg or mp3? my ringtones are labeled mp3, and play in the preview, but do not work when the assigned contact calls or gmails me. files are located in media/audio/ringtones or /notifications
     

Share This Page

Loading...