1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

[Help] Fastboot Stuck

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JJPR97, May 9, 2013.

  1. JJPR97

    JJPR97 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013

    Apr 20, 2013
    226
    22
    38
    Male
    USA
    Well my Lucid is rooted, has cwm, and is running CyanogenMod 10. I got ADB working properly. I wanted to put CWM Touch on my device through fastboot, so in platform tools I start cmd (I have already downloaded CWM Touch through the ROM Manager Website and placed it in the correct place). I boot my phone into recovery mode (while connected to my PC), I do "adb devices" it IS detected, and in recovery mode (Yes drivers are installed and working properly. So next I move with what I want to do and I type "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img" and it stays stuck on "< Waiting for Device >" and doesn't do anything. Any fixes/suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. wiisixtyfour

    wiisixtyfour Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 8, 2012

    I couldn't figure that out either, I'm not sure if our Lucid supports fastboot.
     
  3. stcarlso

    stcarlso Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013

    Feb 26, 2013
    222
    90
    53
    CWM Touch doesn't work on the Lucid. At least not yet.
     
  4. JJPR97

    JJPR97 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013

    Apr 20, 2013
    226
    22
    38
    Male
    USA
    Strange, it's available for download plus in ROM Manager ask to upgrade.
     
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Guys, not an expert on your particular device (in fact, I have no experience ;) :)), but in all of my other devices, you need the device in fastboot/bootloader mode vs. recovery mode in order for fastboot to work.

    Hope that helps :).

    ~ ~ ~

    edit: if your bootloader is locked, you won't be able to flash recovery via fastboot; the way image flashing works outside of fastboot is via the flash_image utility (which I'm pretty sure ROM Manager utilizes)
     
  6. stcarlso

    stcarlso Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013

    Feb 26, 2013
    222
    90
    53
    Our bootloader (at least the gingerbread one) is not locked, but I'm pretty sure that fastboot never worked. There's no bootloader mode, but fastboot might conceivably work in "recovery mode". If you're desperate to try this (and risk a brick), try turning off, holding both Volume Up and Volume Down, and holding Power to turn back on as if you were running the unbricker. While this is "recovery mode" and not bootloader, it might work for you.

    Even more risky, you could boot into CM10, put the recovery.img into your sdcard, and use dd to put it onto the right partition (believe it's 13, info in this post). It is an .img file right?
     
    scary alien likes this.
  7. wiisixtyfour

    wiisixtyfour Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 8, 2012

    That's correct, it should work but I am not brave enough to try it :D
     
  8. JJPR97

    JJPR97 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013

    Apr 20, 2013
    226
    22
    38
    Male
    USA
    Yeah I already got hard bricked once...not risking that again.
     
  9. filipino808

    filipino808 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013

    Feb 24, 2013
    51
    1
    16
    School
    808
    it worked on my phone flashed it through rom manager , have to pay for it though.....
     
  10. JJPR97

    JJPR97 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013

    Apr 20, 2013
    226
    22
    38
    Male
    USA
  11. CoDTroLL3r

    CoDTroLL3r Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013

    Sep 19, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    I cant even get the normal CWM on my lucid :( I go to ROM manager and flash it but does not work so if you do not mind you should send me step by step or just where you got your info :)
     
  12. noseph

    noseph Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    171
    35
    43
    Male
    Retired
    Indian Land, SC
    Are you rooted and running Gingerbread?
     

Share This Page

Loading...