1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

HELP Forgot to factory reset before sending in to Asurion

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by PDsuns, Oct 19, 2020.

  1. PDsuns

    PDsuns Lurker
    Thread Starter

    I recently dropped my Samsung phone and damaged the screen to the point I sent it to Asurion for a replacement. The phone turned on, but the screen stayed black. Call it ignorance, but I didn't realize it would be wise to factory reset the device before sending it in. I also didn't have a pass code to unlock the screen.

    I already received my new device, but I am worried about all the personal information, passwords, photos, etc. that would be accessible on the old device.

    I read about wiping the device using the Android Device Manager, but I would assume it is too late for that since I already have my new device.

    How might Asurion wipe the phone if the screen is not functioning.

    Does anybody have any words of advice?
     


    MrJavi likes this.

    1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!


      Download

       
  2. MrJavi

    MrJavi Android Expert

    Welcome to Android Forums @PDsuns :)

    The first thing I would do is immediately reset all my account passwords. After that I'd contact the company and inquire as to what their policy states when it comes to this type of situation.
     
    ocnbrze, Dannydet and Unforgiven like this.
  3. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator

    duplicate topics merged. :)
     
    ocnbrze and MrJavi like this.
  4. puppykickr

    puppykickr Android Expert

    Did you try Find My Device?

    I do believe that it can be used to erase everything on a device as soon as it is powered back on- so long as it can connect to the internet and receive the signal.
     
    MrJavi, ocnbrze and Dannydet like this.
  5. A bochur

    A bochur Android Enthusiast

    Go to android.com/find log into your Google account. And on the top left select the old phone. Now press on erase and confirm. This will not erase anything on your new device and long as you select the correct one. And it will only work if that device has internet access.

    But you mentioned that you had a passcode on the device, so as long as it's a hard one to guess, i wouldn't be worried about someone getting passed it
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - HELP Forgot factory
  1. meditek
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    425
  2. GiuseppeSM
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    358
  3. Sreya Suresh
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    242
  4. Rarena
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    283
  5. shanks123
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    308
  6. Laszlo Lebrun
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    293
  7. spre248
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    706
  8. Joseph_1
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    860
  9. Raj20
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,058
  10. TYNG3536
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    330

Share This Page

Loading...