1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HELP! Hard Bricked Kyros MID9742-8

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Kpatton, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. Kpatton

    Kpatton Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012

    Aug 16, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I REALLY NEED HELP! :thinking: I think I may have hard bricked my Coby Kyros MID9742-8 :(

    It won't turn on anymore, the reset button does nothing and it won't boot into recovery. At first I thought the battery died but after an over night charge I figure that isn't the problem. When I connect to pc via USB it makes the 'device connected' sound and I see the tablet (VID_1f3a_PID_efe8) in the device manager but nothing beyond that.

    Here's what I did to it.

    I installed Steev's custom ROM (with livesuit v.1.07) which worked fine for about 20 minutes then my screen went haywire and started flashing lines, and touch screen was unresponsive. I tried reflashing the custom ROM again about 4 times before flashing Steev's stock ROM. That put me at the unlock screen but still no response from the touch screen. After that I tried reflashing stock a couple more times, same thing. Then the last time when the first window came up in livesuit with a no and yes, I clicked yes and it formatted. It's been in it's current state since.
     

    Advertisement

  2. AntimonyER

    AntimonyER AF Addict
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    13,646
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    13,646
    8,004
    1,343
    Statesboro, GA
    Hello Kpatton. Sorry to hear of your troubles, I have moved this to the All things root section, to hopefully get your thread the best eyes on the problem. Thanks for signing up! :)
     
  3. beeham

    beeham Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012

    Jul 5, 2012
    2
    0
    25
    I have the same device, and Steev's ROM was working "ok" on it, then I am not even sure what I did. Now it says that the internal memory is 0. Can't install anything, can't even connect to the computer because it won't install PDANet. Wipe/Reset did nothing. Every time I turn it on, it asks for the time zone, etc. SO mad at myself, and can't find a solution for this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...