1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HELP! How can I restore fastboot? (BRICKED?)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cmglng, Sep 11, 2016.

  1. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
    Hi. I tried restoring the download mode on my L70. I got a bootloop problem that's why I tried to revert to stock ROM. The custom ROMs I've tried to flash doesn't boot (Stuck on LG logo when trying to reboot to system). I can't pinpoint the cause of the problem but I have recently updated to cm13 09/06/16. Then I rebooted the phone, but it got stuck on the boot animation. So I tried to restore a backup, that's when the bootloop started, I tried clean installs of multiple versions of cm13 still stuck on logo. So I tried to restore download mode using laf recovery tool. But when I try to boot to download it's just stuck on the LOADING DOWNLOAD MODE screen, press volume up until download mode appears. I have recovered from 2 bricks before by reverting to stock rom.

    So the question is how can I get fastboot back? Or is there any other way to flash the laf(download mode)? All I have is working ADB on TWRP recovery. Please help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. d320hax

    d320hax Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    32
    6
    16
    Well if you still got ADB and root, you can manually do what the laf script does automatically. Like using dd to erase the laf partition. Which should enable fastboot. Or using adb push and dd to restore the default download mode. Just take a look at the laf script. But don't mess up the dd commands or you pay the price...
     
  3. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
    I don't have root anymore. All I can access is adb on recovery, that doesn't have root.
     
  4. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
    I also found out that I have flashed a recovery file as the laf.img instead of the stock download mode. It boots to recovery while I try to boot to downloadmode.
     
  5. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
  6. d320hax

    d320hax Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    32
    6
    16
    Perhaps it's best to try to fix the original problem of not being able to boot after flashing. Since you still have recovery working.
    I would start to double check yourself to see if you have done all the steps correctly. All the basic things (all i know). Like download the correct file. Make sure it's not corrupt. Have a good twrp version. Wipe the data and cache/dalvik. Flash the correct file. Giving it enough time to reboot, build cache. All that stuff. It's amazing what can go wrong with the basics. E.g. using a recovery img as the laf etc. ;)
     
  7. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
    I'm pretty sure I'm doing the correct way to flash with wipe and everything.
     
  8. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
    If I flashed a recovery file on the laf instead of the original download mode, does that mean my bootloader is still unlocked?
     
  9. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
  10. Mystery_Flasher

    Mystery_Flasher Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #143
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016

    Jan 12, 2016
    532
    228
    133
    Male
  11. d320hax

    d320hax Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    32
    6
    16
    And i'm pretty sure you made a mistake somewhere. You already found one mistake. Eliminate them all and you will succeed.

    Laf and aboot are different partitions.

    That thread is about "Manually enable adb debugging from recovery"...?
     
  12. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
    I got adb shell with root working again with that guide from the xda. So I managed to restore fastboot mode using adb in recovery. But I f***** up and got impatient. It got stuck on 3% while flashing stock rom so I unplugged it -_- wrong move really. Now I have to restore my phone using the guide involving linux. Now it just boots on to the purple screen. -_- with ram dump error/secure boot error.
     
  13. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
    @Mystery_Flasher
    @d320hax

    Update: I successfully flashed stock ROM. Device is working again. But still CM13 ROMs are not working. It still has bootloop problems. This is my 2nd try today, 2nd time I flashed the stocked rom too. I already unlocked the bootloader, installed patched aboot and the latest available TWRP. I've been flashing on this device since the CM11 days, pretty sure I'm doing the correct way to flash.
     
  14. Mystery_Flasher

    Mystery_Flasher Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #143
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016

    Jan 12, 2016
    532
    228
    133
    Male
    Have you ever repartitioned your internal memory with a script or a flashable tool?
    This bootloop might be caused by flashing CM13 on a system partition that is smaller than 1100 MB.
    Also, try flashing CM13 without Gapps and see if it boots up normally. Then, reboot your phone and flash gapps.
    I hope that you've chosen a correct Gapps package? OpenGapps for ARM - Android 6 - pico version are recommended.
     
  15. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
    On my first attempt (after the brick) I changed the partition, the one for MM and used pico gapps. Same thing even without gapps.

    So I flashed the stock rom again and continued with unlocking bl, flash recovery, etc, and kept the stock partition sizes, still getting bootloops. This is frustrating. -_-

    What is the latest cm13 version that you flashed on your device that is working?




    Anyway the problem started when I updated to 09/06 from 8/06. It booted. (I saw the new optimizing app screen, cards have been removed). Then I continued to flash other zips, xposed, supersu, and my own debloater zip. When I reboot the system, it was just stuck on the bootanimation, wipe cache and dalivik didn't fix it. So I restored my backup of 08/06 CM13. That's when the bootloop started. Even clean installs doesn't work, so none of the other zips i mentioned. above caused the problem. Then, just like I said after flashing kdz TWICE I still got the bootloop problem.
     
  16. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
    Found an easy way to restore the download mode, I just flash the laf.img on twrp as a kernel(boot). Then start restoring.
     
  17. Mystery_Flasher

    Mystery_Flasher Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #143
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016

    Jan 12, 2016
    532
    228
    133
    Male
    I use the very latest nightly available without problems. Maybe your SD card is corrupted? Have you tried to flash CM13 from a different SD card?
     
  18. cmglng

    cmglng Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014

    Dec 8, 2014
    129
    44
    43
    Male
    No. But I dont have extra sd card. I will flash it from internal.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...