1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help: How To Boot Into A Different Launcher?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hugebob, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. hugebob

    hugebob Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    Hi All,

    I just got 2.3.3 on my Droid X. When I first started it up, it was great! Then I decided that I wanted to change the wallpaper to one of the photos in my gallery. Since then the Regina launcher continues to crash. Is there a way that I can have the phone load one of my other launchers at boot up so I can avoid Regina? I've got MotoBlur and Launcher Pro installed. If I could get to one of those instead, that would be great. Right now, my phone is useless.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    You can't do it without first booting up the phone.
     
  3. doniago

    doniago Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #110
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    512
    110
    113
    Male
    Finance
    Burlington, VT
    Download "Home Switcher".
     
  4. hugebob

    hugebob Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    19
    0
    15

    All that is installed. When I power up the phone, it tries to load the Regina launcher which crashes. I then can't reach a user interface so as to switch launchers. I'm wondering if a factory reset would do. But, I can't even reach the user interface controls to do that!
     
  5. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    You can do a factory reset through the bootloader screen. With the phone off press and hold the home and power buttons until a triangle with an exclamation point pops up. Once it does press both volume buttons, then use the volume down button to scroll down to "factory reset" then press the power button (enter). Once it's done press reboot now.
     
  6. hugebob

    hugebob Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    Thanks Air! Does Android Market or AppBrain maintain a record of my installed apps on my phone?
     
  7. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    Boot into CWR and flash your last nanodroid... If the nanodroid is recent then you should be go to go.. nanodroid>factory reset.

    If your running GB do not flash a Froyo nanodroid.
     
  8. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    Yes it does, all of your apps and app purchases are tied to your Google account.
     

Share This Page

Loading...