1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root help...I cannot find a way to root my virgin mobile htc evo 3d

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by emmasmomma3912, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. emmasmomma3912

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    3
    0
    25
    I need help rooting my virgin mobile htc evo v on a mac. I have tried many many methods but none work bc i have a mac. Then the unrevoked way dont work bc it says device "shooter" is not supported. does anyone know what I can do to get this phone rooted???
     

    Advertisement

  2. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    You posted in the wrong section but I'm sure some help will be right along to help move this post.
     
    jerofld likes this.
  3. emmasmomma3912

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    3
    0
    25
    then where do I post it?
     
  4. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
  5. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    SurrealOne and musolff92 like this.
  6. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    You should be able to unlock/root via HTCDEV. I believe the process is the same except for adding "./" before the commands. I haven't done it though, so I can't tell you much more than that.

    I don't think s-off is possible on a mac, but I could be wrong.
     
  7. kagevazquez

    kagevazquez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    244
    35
    43
    You need to download virtual box so you can run Windows and then you should be able to put adb and the java sdk on Windows so you can unlock the bootloader with the HTC dev method
     
  8. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    You can do the HTCdev method natively on a mac.

    This guide was written for the Rezound, but it's the same deal. Just use the files for your device.
     
  9. kagevazquez

    kagevazquez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    244
    35
    43
    :eek: thanks I didn't know you could on a Mac I got my last HTC before that guide was written so I didn't know
     
  10. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    No problem, your suggestion would have worked, it just would have been more complicated. I was only clarifying. ;)
     
  11. mprasolov

    mprasolov Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    May 26, 2012

Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...