1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help. I can't change from default keyboard.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Harmonic, Nov 19, 2011.

  1. Harmonic

    Harmonic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Portland, Oregon
    I got a replacement phone because mine had a bad speaker, and then I reinstalled the keyboard I had been using, SwiftKey X. When I tried to switch to it though it didn't work and it still shows the default keyboard. I even installed another keyboard app, TouchPal, but neither one replaces the default keyboard like they are supposed to.

    Under Language & Keyboard I check the boxes to use the installed keyboards, but it always shows the default when I try to type. I got SwiftKey to work before and now I can't get it to show up.

    Please help. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Long press in any text input field and choose "input method" choose your desired keyboard.
     
  3. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Bring up any screen where you can enter text (messages, for example) long press on the text box, then select the keyboard you want to use.

    Edit: I see sdrawkcab25 snuck in there just before I did... :)
     
  4. Harmonic

    Harmonic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Portland, Oregon
    Thanks so much. Such a simple solution, I just thought it wasn't working correctly, so I never thought to try that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...