1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HELP! i rooted and unrooted, now i cant root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by northeimcustom, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. northeimcustom

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    ive followed the steps in "the easiest way to root with no app or computer"

    sudo
    ln -s /system/xbin/sudo /system/xbin/su
    ln -s /system/xbin/sudo /system/bin/su



    then i unrooted by typing

    rm /system/xbin/sudo /system/xbin/su
    rm /system/xbin/sudo /system/bin/su

    now im unrooted. but i need to be rooted to do my back up

    and i try it all over again and it says permission denied


    please help a poor fella out :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. tickerguy

    tickerguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    You removed the actual original binaries. You need to find someone with a copy and put them back in /system/xbin using adb push.
     
  3. northeimcustom

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    oh boy, im not very good about any of this, can you explain to me exactly what i need to do??? :)

    or point me into the right direction?

    i just need to get rooted again to go back in my ti backup and restore my bloat

    what it i do a factory reset?

    i want to return it back to best buy (within my 30 days from purchase) cuz im not happy with it
     
  4. tickerguy

    tickerguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Factory reset will not replace the two files. It will wipe the data though and there's no way Best Buy will know the files are missing out of the load.

    You need the files from /xbin that you killed. I don't have them handy - maybe someone else does. There could be a problem restoring them however as without root you can't remount the /system directory writable. I suspect you'll have to gingerbreak the phone to get root back.
     
  5. northeimcustom

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    ok so it will wipe the data, what about the bloatware i uninstalled using the ti backup?

    will they re appear? i just dont want to brick it
     
  6. tickerguy

    tickerguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Nope. You have to un-block it using Ti.
     
  7. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    1. Try Gingerroot to reroot, easiest way.

    Harder ways:

    2: In Princely ROM
    3: In Deodex ROM on XDA
     
  8. northeimcustom

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    well ti gives an error message that says this application will *not* work! please verify that your ROM is rooted and includes busybox and try again.
     
  9. northeimcustom

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    well i know busy box is installed....... im stuck......

    i have no clue what im doing here...

    i cant find ginger root or ginger break or anything
     
  10. northeimcustom

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    ok i got gingerbreak now and attempting to root,

    keep your fingers crossed ppl!
     
  11. death2twitter

    death2twitter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    157
    23
    38
    Student
    I had a similar problem. I rooted by symlinking like you did, then installed busybox and superuser. After a bit I decided I really didn't need to be rooted, so I used the root explorer option on Es file explorer and deleted the busybox binary from xbin, and deleted su from bin and xbin the same way. Then I uninstalled superuser. Now when I type sudo, I get permission denied. I made sure the sudo binary is still there in xbin, and it is. Wtf?

    Interestingly, if I install superuser and then try sudo, the superuser prompt comes up and by clicking Allow, sudo will go through. But I didn't need superuser to do that before!

    Maybe a leftover configuration file from superuser or some such? Idk. I'm just starting to get into all this hacking business :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...