1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help - I`ve killed the market app !

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by robinta, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    I have been having an issue with not being able to update the Maps app (insuficient space error) but after trying a few options have now managed to kill the market.

    After trying to clear data cache etc I reflashed the ROM (Redux 1.2) to no avail.

    I read on the XDA site about a possible cure through terminal monitor of moving the market cache to SD via terminal which I followed using :-

    mount -o remount,rw /
    rmdir /cache
    mkdir -p /mnt/sdcard/cache
    ln -sf /mnt/sdcard/cache
    mount -o remount,ro /



    This failed ( I didnt note the error message unfortunately) & now when accessing the market Downloading an app fails midway through the process.

    Does anyone know how I can reverse this process ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    you didnt need to do any of this as you have the 06mountdl script that binds /cache/downloads to /data/local/downloads.

    How much space have you got?

    to reverse

    mount -o remount,rw /
    rmdir /mnt/sdcard/cache
    mkdir -p /cache
    ln -sf /cache
    mount -o remount,ro /

    line 3 may fail though.

    Failing that nandroid restore.
     
  3. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    Think I`ve really f*cked up now.

    EDIT - Panic over !! dodgy volume button wouldnt let me get into recovery.



    Tried the above which didnt work. Went to restore a nandroid which showed md5 sum error. Saw on xda about renaming the md5 to match the nandroid file date so updated through terminal.



    I took a new backup in case (which I have now accessed - so am now back to square 1 (a lot better than 2 hrs ago).

    The 2 older backups on the card both show md5 checksum error.

    Is there any way around this ?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    sounds like your sd card is shit? unless you renamed the nandroids?
     
  5. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    I dont know what happened Dan but have managed to reflash.I've wiped everything including data caches, etc. With a bit of effort ive got my apps reinstalled via titanium but instead of the 65mb of free space i had before i caused this problem, I've only got about 25mb.

    This is on redux 1.2 with a partition and I've ran the separate apps2sd script as i did on rooting originally.

    Any clues as to the drop in available space ? It might be my imagination but some of the apps seem a lot larger in size than i remembered. I'm confused.

    (Ps I'm not that concerned with the original thread problem at the moment! )
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    if you reflashed the 10apps2sd from the redux site after the rom, really not sure. Flash again?
     
  7. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    ive tried it 3 times now with the same result.. wonder if there`s any other data floating around or in a cache thats not necesary ?
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    do you have root explorer? Can you see the actual contents of the sd ext
     
  9. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    Yes.

    sd-ext has used 316mb of 709mb with 3 folders app (100mb), app-private(1mb) & dalvik-cache (119mb) - surely they should add up ?
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    they should do. Have you wiped dalvik since reflashing the script?

    Did you do a full wipe before reflashing the rom?
     
  11. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    Yes. Full wipe via recovery before reflash. And ive wiped dalvik cache after running script as well.
     
  12. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    Ive also noticed in the internal memory data/dalvik-cache is 123mb whilst data/data/-cwm.restore is 65mb does that sound normal?
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    What do you mean "after running script"? If its the redux one, you dont run it, it just runs at boot. Please clarify
     
  14. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    Sorry. I meant selecting apps2d zip to run via recovery ! Not as a script
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I would probably try again. Do a fuill wipe. Flash the rom. Flash the script immediately after. Boot ROM and sign in. Install titanium backup and restore root explorer.

    Check what is in /sd-ext is much less than your last report.

    Ensure titanium is not set to force restored apps to original location. Do a full restore and see where you are at.
     
  16. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    Thanks as ever Dan - I'll reflash and let you know in due course.

    I'm just having a few issues with TB and errors in backups to sort before I wipe everything again. Ta.
     
  17. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    Ok. My problem with apps storage is resolved.
    After reflashing again I`m back to over 65mb. As I have had issues in restoring from a nandroid with checksums and titanium kept freezing on batch and individual app restores I used MyBackup Pro this time. Again I had issues trying to get a clean backup - I get verification errors with titanium and MyBackup. I wondered about a fault with the SD card and running via pc with CHKDSK did confirm and rectify errors.

    A few apps My Data Manager; ADW EX; and google maps will not reinstall through the market (app and web) even though they are showing in my apps (either package file error or insufficient storage) They also fail to install via Titanium (it just sits forever as restoring).

    Ive tried to sideload via pc but get the same error codes.
     
  18. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Could it be a system error? Have you tried wiping each partition separately? Wipe data/factory restore but then go advanced and wipe data, cache, system, and boot image and see if that helps, ive had similar things in the past with random apps failing and found this to be the only method I found to fix it, i know it means wiping again, but it might help.
     
  19. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    Ive followed your advice ducky (thats the first time I've used that phrase!) But still cant install certain apps, either with insufficient storage space or parse errors
     
  20. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Really can't understand it then, you say you have tried other roms? Which apps is it that won't install? And are these fresh installs or via titanium?
     
  21. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    No I've only ever used redux 1.2.

    What happened was i was getting the insufficient storage error with the latest google maps update. After trying various options i ended up reflashing the rom and ended up with a market error as per this thread, which is now resolved.

    In truth i can download new apps fine. The problem has been reinstalling some existing apps; namely adw launcher ex, my data manager and google maps (these are the ones I'm aware of to date).

    After the reflash I'd had a nightmare reinstalling via titanium in batch mode (it kept freezing). And had to install in small batches.

    The apps in question can be downloaded from the market but fail to install. Manually installing the apks gives the same error.

    I cant find any directories any where that might relate to these apps and could even download the original adw launcher (not the paid ex version) no problem.

    I dont want to go to a different ROM. I think the only thing i didnt delete as per your post was the boot image as a) i didnt know where that was held and b) i was scared!
     
  22. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Its all managed by recovery. You format boot, cache, data, system from. Its needed only to boot the rom, which if you format syste, you havent got anyway.

    Flashing a rom flashes /system and /boot

    You could try dGB (I know you dont want to go to another ROM) as its original source base was Redux 1.2 (it was my favourite ever ROM but had some things I wasn't happy with). Go on, live a little.
     
  23. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    Going to another rom doesnt bother me too much. Its the problems I've had with titanium/my backup pro getting apps reinstalled thats putting me off most. Although im busy verifying a new backup now.

    Where can i find dgb?
    (Im in the phandroid app at the moment. Apoligies if itd blindingly obvious !)
     
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I was going to post a link as signatures dont show up in the app, but those links make you go to the browser. Back out of this thread in the root forum. Its the thread below this one currently!
     
  25. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    193
    8
    56
    ok - im going for it !
     
    SUroot likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...