1. Check out our app, Forums for Android! Download and leave feedback here!

Help! Lost my DSL, how can I use Hero as modem?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Vesbon, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. Vesbon

    Vesbon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    55

    Apr 24, 2010
    113
    0
    55
    I called to cancel my LAN Line phone and forgot it's a needed for the DSL connection. Now I have no internet on my computer and I really need it for my job. How can use my Sprint hero as a modem? Is there a way to do this for free without rooting? Otherwise it's $15 per month. I'm getting U Verse soon, but not for 2 weeks and I need internet on my computer ASAP.

    Thanks
    V
     

    Advertisement

  2. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member
    923

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,774
    3,387
    923
    you can only do .. usb connected tethering. If you Root then you can do wireless

    1. if you have 2.1: you should be able to connect your usb to your laptop. A window will come up. Select to share your internet connect.

    2. or you can try to use "PdaNet" app. It is free in the Market.
     
  3. Little Darwin

    Little Darwin Well-Known Member
    63

    Mar 18, 2010
    349
    37
    63
    Male
    Systems Analyst
    Wilkes-Barre, PA
    You don't need to root to use PDANet... And with the trial period, you can see if you like it. After the trial, you are stuck without https, or paying (as I did).

    http://www.junefabrics.com/android/
     
  4. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member
    113

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    You either need PDAnet or EasyTether. You will have to do USB tethering since you are not rooted. The native tethering in 2.1 is disabled.
     
  5. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member
    128

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    ^^ yup, pdanet or root, I'd just root.
     
  6. Vesbon

    Vesbon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    55

    Apr 24, 2010
    113
    0
    55
    Wow thanks a bunch all! I love this forum. Is pdanet free?
     
  7. Vesbon

    Vesbon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    55

    Apr 24, 2010
    113
    0
    55
    Trial period? So it's not free? I just need it for basic internet... no frills.
     
  8. Vesbon

    Vesbon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    55

    Apr 24, 2010
    113
    0
    55
    I got this to work, and it's great! However, there were alot of warnings when I was installing it, both on my phone and on my computer.

    Is pdanet safe to run? By "safe" I mean there isn't any way the data on my personal computer is going to get stolen, is there? I don't care about the phone, there's nothing on it right now.

    I'm paranoid about my personal data on my computer. I'm using 64-bit Windows 7.

    Thanks,
    -v
     
  9. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member
    128

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    I haven't used it myself but I believe that it is quite reputable and trusted by most.
     
  10. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member
    113

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    I've never had any issues with it. It seems to be a fairly trusted app as well. I think EasyTether is easier to use though, but that's just my opinion.
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,316
    7,959
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Just curious all, I would assume tethering from the Sprint service cannot be that fast, what speed does it offer, is it quicker than standard dial, just asking incase my internet ever goes down
     
  12. A_Guy

    A_Guy Active Member
    16

    May 10, 2010
    25
    4
    16
    DonB, varies depending on your signal strength, but usually between 200kbps - 1.5mbps
     
    DonB likes this.
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,316
    7,959
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Kool good to know, if my internet ever goes down,thanks bud
     
  14. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,316
    7,959
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    My friend tried this and she could not get it to work, she kept getting the error 67 message, does anyone have a step by step to get tethering going for her
     
  15. SilHero

    SilHero Well-Known Member
    16

    Dec 2, 2009
    65
    4
    16
    San Antonio, Tx
    i use easytether, never tried PDAnet, and it works great for me.

    i just downloaded the app, and in the app it tells you where to go to download the fle for your comp...actually i think it gives u a link that u can dl to your phone, then transfer it to ur comp via SD mount.

    only thing i remember is having to turn on the USB debugging, sorry this is not a step by step description, but its pretty user firendly once you dl the app to your phone.
     
    wbruff likes this.
  16. Turamarth

    Turamarth Active Member
    36

    Apr 1, 2010
    42
    1
    36
    Student-Actor/Lighting Design
    KCMO

    I've had the same issue when trying to tether. Where my computer did get all the drivers installed that allow for it, and my network software registered it being there; my phone kept giving me a Error Code 67, which if I'm not mistaken is either a Profile issue or a PRL issue. Is there a way around this error when tethering?
     
  17. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member
    113

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    If you are getting the Error 67 code it's because you are trying to use the native tethering that has been disabled. That option will NOT work for tethering. You will ALWAYS get the Error 67 code. You HAVE to use either PDAnet or EasyTether. If you root the phone, then you can use Wireless Tether as well.
     
  18. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,316
    7,959
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    She does not want to root, but is using one of those programs I believe, I thought she could still be able to tether, you are saying know??
    that she can only do so if she is rooted??
     
  19. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member
    113

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    That's not what I'm saying. The 2 programs listed will not produce the Error 67 if used correctly whether you are rooted or not. If used incorrectly, then I cannot guarantee that they won't. However, trying to use the native tether in 2.1 will always produce that error, whether you are rooted or not. I was saying that if you want to use Wireless Tether, then you need to be Rooted. No Root is needed for PDAnet or EasyTether.
     
  20. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,316
    7,959
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    OK I am sure she will respond back, we have a tropical depression here, so she maybe busy, but I am sure she will post what she did and her issue, thanks
     
  21. gohrat

    gohrat New Member
    5

    Jul 23, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Tell her when she connects to the computer not to choose internet sharing just use disk drive. PDAnet works great for me but I beleive the conflict is coming because she is telling the phone she wants internet sharing.
     
  22. chewedpup

    chewedpup Well-Known Member
    38

    Jul 18, 2010
    102
    20
    38
    I haven't had a chance to try these options, the pda.net and easytether (I have been traveling), but I will do so this weekend and will report my findings here - thanks so much for all your responses!
     
  23. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,423

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,316
    7,959
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    Your welcome TC, LOL
     
  24. chewedpup

    chewedpup Well-Known Member
    38

    Jul 18, 2010
    102
    20
    38
    Sat down calmly and quietly today, determined to get the tethering sorted. It wasn't easy the other day when we really had NO internet and I was kind of panicking - couldn't get it to work (easytether), kept getting Error 67, but this is what I did.

    1) download it from the marketplace onto my Hero and run the program - it gives you step by step instructions.

    2) at the same time, I went to Download EasyTether drivers and downloaded the drivers to my computer, installed them, and rebooted

    3) Made sure on my Hero I went to the Settings-Applications-Development and checked on the US Debugging

    finished installation on my Hero, connected it to the computer, and in the icon on the system tray, clicked on the "connect using Android" and VOILA!

    The speed wasn't bad at all actually - i was most impressed with how easily it ran. I don't know why I originally got the Error 67 messages, telling me I had the incorrect PCS Vision name or password incorrect, but perhaps my recent updating of profile and PRL fixed those?

    Anyway - it's great stuff. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE who helped!!!!!! You guys ROCK
     
  25. cygnis1

    cygnis1 Member
    5

    Jul 11, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Healthcare
    Missouri
    I tried to download both pdanet and easytethering from the phandroid app place, but they are not in MY marketplace on my phone. I have an HTC Aria on ATT. Have they disabled some of the apps in the app marketplace? When I scan the barcode then open the browser I get this message: pname: com.mstream.easytether_beta not in Android Market. Any help would be appreciated.
    Cygnis1
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...