1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help making a goldcard for a slcd bricked desire

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bobadopalis, May 30, 2011.

  1. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    48
    4
    36
    hi im hoping someone can help. i accidentally screen bricked my desire trying to unroot it, and now cant find the goldcard. either could someone talk me through making a goldcard for a phone when you cant see the screen, or any other solution to get it back up and running again.
    It originally was a tmobile uk branded desire
    i had it rooted S-ON running gingervillain if that helps

    i have access to a mac and if i have to a pc
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You don't need the phone. Use the guide in the rooting faq linked in my signature.

    All you need is a card reader. If you don't have one, buy one. They're ridiculously cheap
     
    bobadopalis likes this.
  3. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    48
    4
    36
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Just as per my PM,

    How bricked is it? Can you see the fastboot screen? can you get into and see recovery?
     
  5. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    48
    4
    36
    i cant see the screen at all, im not sure if it will go into recovery as my volume button got wet and doesnt work properly (hence trying to restore it back to factory for insurance). i can get it into fastboot with the back and power screen, but cant see the screen, only way i can tell is through adb. the phone turns on and will accept calls etc just nothing on the screen at all
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Do you know anyone else with an android phone that takes microsd/ They could get the cid for you using goldcard helper off the market
     
    bobadopalis likes this.
  7. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    48
    4
    36
    right ive managed to create goldcard using a friends desireHD, now when i run the ruu i get the error less than 30% battery left, even tho if i plug the phone in to charge the green light comes on. any ideas?
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Are you running from fastboot mode? From off, hold back and press power
     
  9. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    48
    4
    36
    yes im running it in fastboot mode, its the only way i can get the pc to recognise the phone
     
  10. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    433
    The Netherlands
    Maybe the software doesn't recognize that the phone is charging.
    Charge it full and then try again with the RUU.
     
    bobadopalis likes this.
  11. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    48
    4
    36
    hi sorry im back again with more questions, right left my phone on charge over night, now it will attempted to put the ruu on, but after minute or two it comes up with error 171 no usb connected? any suggestions?
     
  12. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    433
    The Netherlands
    bobadopalis likes this.
  13. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    48
    4
    36
    right im starting to loose hope now. the usb error cleared itself up. but now ive got cid error again.

    as my phone is screen bricked, i had to use a friends desireHD and goldcard helper to get cid, this is what i got:

    card mmc2:dcdb
    reverse cid: 00a600ca86ea70804736315553445304

    card mmc0:0001
    reverse cid 001eddfddb11904734304d4553000145


    ive tried creating a goldcard with both, using:
    Free HTC goldcard generator | RevSkills

    then with goldcard tool to make the sd a goldcard

    ive tried using both of them on the tmobile ruu and a wwe one, and im still getting CID error
     
  14. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    433
    The Netherlands
  15. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    48
    4
    36
    I followed it as much as possible, but having a non working screen ive had to change a few things, as i cant enable mass storage or usb debugging
    1) i had to format using gparted and a microSD reader
    2) i had to get the CID using another phone and goldcard helper
    3) and the goldcard.img was put on with an microSD reader

    I was thinking the problem may be because i got the cid using a desireHD? do you know the command to get from fastboot into recovery using adb? because i think i can enable usb debugging and mass storage
     
  16. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    433
    The Netherlands
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Usb debugging is only in android. You can't enable it / don't need it in recovery, hboot or fastboot
     
  18. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    48
    4
    36
    right i have spent nearly a week now trying to fix my phone, and have litteraly tried everything and im getting nowhere, is it possible to have an slcd brick thats not fixable?
     
  19. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    ive not heard of it being irreversible so if that was the case you would be the first

    the only other thing i can think of is putting the pb99img.zip on sdcard and flashing it
    problem is with no screen you will have to guess whether its parsing it and when to click a button to ok (cant remember what the button is)
    its risky though as you might think its not flashing and pull the battery and if it is flashing and writing the radio then thats a full brick
     
  20. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    48
    4
    36

    i have tried the pb99img.zip method, but it didnt work (well obviously or id have a working phone lol), the error i am getting running the ruu is a goldcard problem, im assuming id get the same error runing pb99img.zip?

    well tonight ive got a friend coming over with a desireHD, so im going to try making a new goldcard from scratch an see if that helps, if not i might just have to 'lose' it for insurance purposes
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Is there definitely no RUU available for your device? What network branding was on it originally? From what Country / region?

    Edit. Oh TMO UK

    Edit 2..

    See post from Usta with latest RUU for TMO uk.

    http://androidforums.com/desire-all-things-root/347142-please-help-ruu.html#post2767133


    Now to find EddyOS's guide to retrieve a PB99IMG.zip from that, 2 secs...

    Edit 3...

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=10509780&postcount=102

    So download latest RUU from Edit 2. Then follow steps in Edit 3. This will get you a PB99IMG.zip that is for your device so no goldcard needed
     
    Usta likes this.
  22. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    cant you use a card reader instead of a desire hd
    the reason i ask is that youll get 2 cid's with the desire hd as the internal memory on that card is actually a intergrated microsd card (rest of the system is on nand)
     
  23. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    He can't get the tool to retrieve the CID so he is having to use goldcard helper.

    However, he shouldnt even need a goldcard as there is a branded RUU available.
     
  24. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    good point
     
  25. loopingz

    loopingz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    Hi there,

    I need to create a goldcard for a bricked (boot loop or frozen boot) htc desire. I have another working HTC desire. I just want to make sure that he CID is only SDcard dependant/specific, this way I make one with my working phone and then use it in my bricked one.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...