1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Help me choose a phone, please.

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Swipe, May 15, 2011.

1. Swipe

Swipe Newbie

I asked on my other thread and then I noticed the warning that that thread is for introductions only so I'm making a new thread.

See I am looking for a new phone and I would like to get a smartphone. iPhones is very popular here but a friend of my tells me to get an Android. After much searching I ended up here.

I really don't know what to get. I am not tech savvy in terms of phone.

Please help me choose one.

This is mostly what I need.

Big touchscreen phone
    easy keyboard
    I suck at those slidy keyboards things
    Can play movies/games and music
    Easy to operate (Big Plus for me)
    Customizable

I heard about this sense thing, like when you flip the phone over when it's ringing and it will be silent? Is that real? It also rings loud when inside something.

I also heard that when you lose a phone you can access it on the web. I don't know that.

Forgive me. I am new with smart phone. I have a basic phone.

So sorry.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Medion

Medion Android Expert

Given your needs, I'd recommend and HTC phone due to the Sense UI (not all HTC phones have it though, as some T-Mobile phones don't use it). Sense is, IMO, the most intuitive Android UI. It also has the best stock keyboard, IMO.

With that said, I always recommend choosing your carrier first. Since you didn't list a carrier of choice, I'll list my recommendations per carrier:

Verizon - I'd go with the Incredible 2, which has a respectable 4" screen in a nice form factor. If you need the larger 4.3" screen and/or LTE 4G, get the Thunderbolt, but be prepared for some battery life issues.

AT&T - Inspire 4G

Sprint - Evo 4G. But, if you can tolerate a smaller screen with a physical QWERTY, consider the Evo Shift 4G.