1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help me please :3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Alm3ga, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. Alm3ga

    Alm3ga Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Hey guys, I've been having a problem recently while trying to flash a new rom using rom manager. After the rom finishes downloading I check all the boxes, (backup current rom, and wipe date/ cache), and it says hit okay to reboot into clockworkmod recovery and I hit okay, then it shuts off and it comes up with the motorola "M" screen and just stays there.. And it wont do anything :/ I have no clue what's going on, is it just taking a long time?

    -Alm
     

    Advertisement

  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Sounds like the recovery image is corrupted (happens occasionally...don't worry).

    Flash the "alternative recovery" which is SPRecovery (located at the bottom of the main page of ROM Manager.

    Then reboot...

    Then Flash back to the "Clockwork Recovery" using ROM manager and you should be good to go.
     
  3. Bunsen Honeydew

    Bunsen Honeydew Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    275
    33
    43
    Professional Student
    Minneapolis, MN
    Flash to SPR, then back to clockwork recovery. That fixed it for me.

    Edit: scooped
     
  4. esmith818

    esmith818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    691
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    691
    316
    113
    Web to Print Content Developer
    NC
    I've had that problem in the past. Helpful forum members had me reboot while hholding camera and volume buttons which got me back to the most recent ROM installed from where I could access ROM Manager to flash SPRecovery and then re-flash Clockwork Recovery. At that point I was able to successfully flash a new ROM.

    EDIT: Ah, beaten to the punch...
     
  5. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    LOL...happens to me all the time cause I'm usually longwinded...nice to get one in first for a change :D
     
  6. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Sounds like we've seen this issue once or twice...wonder why this is happening so often???
     
  7. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Appears that the Froyo ROM leak isn't playing nicely with our custom recoveries...I don't know that anyone has really investigated this yet.
     
  8. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    337
    59
    53
    CCTV operator
    Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX by way of Long Island, NY
    Talking about posts with non-descriptive titles? Yeah, seems to be happening a lot lately.
     
  9. Alm3ga

    Alm3ga Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks guys! booted right into clockwork :)

    p.s. you guys are fast at responding! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...