1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help me port KitKat to ZTE Warp2 (Sequent)?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by davidp799, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. davidp799

    davidp799 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    74
    8
    36
    Male
    New Jersey
    I have ported CM11 4.4.2 to the Warp2, but I need help.
    So lately I have gotten into installing custom Roms like Cyanogenmod 7, 9, and CTMod with my old Samsung Galaxy Prevail, but I just got my new ZTE Warp 2. I have searched all over the internet for new Roms for this device, but I can't seem to find many. It has a very small group of root users, so I was wondering if I could have some assistance creating my own KitKat Rom. I have already created themed JellyBean Roms for this phone, but I would like to get a real, working upgrade for it. If anyone is willing to assist me with this, I can put in as much work as is needed. Note that I am only 13, but I do enjoy doing this, so it won't be a problem if I need to read up on things. I do have experience editing build.prop, driver's for devices, and .xml documents. I also have experience using notepad++, WinRAR, Eclipse, Cmd Prompt, the adb interface, and a few other applications i didn't name. Anyways, if anyone can assist me, I would appreciate it! :D

    *Below I have attached a download link to what I have so far of the KitKat Rom. It is CM11 4.4.2. I have ported it already, but it doesn't seem to boot all the way. It gets to the Cyanogenmod 11 KK Screen, but continuously animates until it is forced off by the user, eg. removing the battery.*

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/vozuqs6r6iqugny/cm-11-20140103-UNNOFICIAL-warp2%20v.1.0.0.zip
     

    Advertisement

    DimBulb likes this.
  2. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Can you get adb access during the boot animation?
     
    davidp799 likes this.
  3. davidp799

    davidp799 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    74
    8
    36
    Male
    New Jersey
    During boot? I don't think this rom is capable of that, but I just decompiled the boot.img and ramdisk.gz. Inside, I found a line with notepad++ that I changed to allow adb debugging at boot. I made the boot.img into a flashable zip for recovery and plan to test it out in a few minutes. I'll tell you how it goes, as I think I did it right.

    Here's a link to the flashable zip file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/6tioeug2v91v03d/Boot.img.zip
     
  4. davidp799

    davidp799 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    74
    8
    36
    Male
    New Jersey
    I'm currently backing up my Rooted Stock b13 rom, so once that is done, I will install cyanogenmod 11, flash the boot.img, and see whats going on through adb.
     
  5. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    omg omg omg

    edit: throwing this in cause I was like input from users, and possibly new users. Last semester I got my certification in Linux. Part of the process was to do a final project. My team did a page on facebook to try to help anyone with any type of hardware successfully install Ubuntu. I also tried to keep links to any "equivalents" to help people getting accustomed.

    Linux for N00BZ
     
  6. Xavier1022

    Xavier1022 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    42
    3
    16
    In School
    Are there any updates on how this rom is going?
     
  7. davidp799

    davidp799 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    74
    8
    36
    Male
    New Jersey
    I have decided to do a complete restart on this project. Unfortunately it will take a while longer to complete, but once I achieve a bootable KitKat rom, I will post it into the ZTE Warp Sequent forum section. I am going to update this thread regularly on how things are going. The reason I am restarting this project from scratch is that SuperR has informed me that I had been simply theming Cyanogenmod 10 android 4.1.2 JellyBean... Anyways, the room won't be complete any time soon, but I will keep you guys updated on my progress. If you would like to join in once the rom is bootable, just ask. :)
     
  8. Xavier1022

    Xavier1022 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    42
    3
    16
    In School
    Ok because i am very excited for this rom i know stuff like this takes time to complete
     
  9. davidp799

    davidp799 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    74
    8
    36
    Male
    New Jersey
    I'm very excited for this rom too, so I'll pm you when I get it to become at least a little bit functional. :D
     
  10. Xavier1022

    Xavier1022 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013

    Dec 8, 2013
    42
    3
    16
    In School
    Ok and once it's functional I'll be more then glad to test if you would like.
     
  11. davidp799

    davidp799 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    74
    8
    36
    Male
    New Jersey
    Thanks! Once it comes to that point, I'll let you know.
     
  12. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    when do we have the extsd conversation?
     
  13. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Perhaps a fresh pair of eyes is just what we need :)
     
  14. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    ok, i got a commodore 64 and i wanna install ubuntu on it... hey, you said any hardware lmao

    on a serious note though, i will tell you this... kit kat MIGHT boot, MIGHT i say. youre going to have to redo the entire device tree and build it from scratch though because the 3.4 kernel hasnt been worked with yet that i know of and without the 3.4 kernel you have no hope of getting sd card to work just as in cm10.1+ also graphics are going to be an issue, the kernel includes will not work, they will need to be overhauled. its not a project for a weekend my friend
     
  15. davidp799

    davidp799 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    74
    8
    36
    Male
    New Jersey
    I understand that this will take a long while to even begin, but I'm up for a challenge and something new. I planned to start, so I also plan to finish. :)
    Also, with the graphics issues, that seems to be common with a lot of unofficial ports I have seen with recent devices.
     
  16. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    graphics issues as in nothing will show on screen past cm10 can be built without patching cm? zte is a little worse than anything else ive seen but it can be fixed or adjusted if you know kernel coding
     
  17. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    I could use a side project right now. Reality speaking my feet might just be wet. But irony's turn, I was at Slayer from the Rush's forums house a week or so ago, he was having a mounting issue, which I helped him solve. So, I'll roll the dice and see where they go. No promises, at all.
     
  18. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

  19. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,101
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,101
    4,288
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    What? U get 4.3 working right?!
     
  20. Seraph08

    Seraph08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,043
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    You came to soon. Upgraded. Moto G.
     
  21. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,101
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,101
    4,288
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Not a sequent?
     
  22. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    notice the model number... moto g

    its a motorola phone, not even the same brand. zte has "quirks" i guess you could call them, as all manufacturers do but unlike most manufacturers they havent been tackled yet

    also, the moto g has a distinct advantage... it comes with 4.3. so porting 4.3 or 4.4 to it should be a much easier task. but that doesnt even appear to be cm or aosp of any kind, it looks like stock to me. not sure why the screenshot was even posted here
     
  23. davidp799

    davidp799 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    74
    8
    36
    Male
    New Jersey
    That's the phone I planned on getting, but went with the cheaper Sequent. I doubt it would work on boost anyways.. Lol.
     
  24. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    davidp799 likes this.
  25. davidp799

    davidp799 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013

    Nov 5, 2013
    74
    8
    36
    Male
    New Jersey
    So, while I was off the forums for a little while, I had been working on the KitKat rom for our Sequent, but I had some trouble. I decided to first start off slow with this, and cooked up a little rom for everyone. It's not really at the KitKat experience just yet, but I am working on what I call JellyKat. I've been working on it whenever I could, so it's nothing special but some theming so far. The rom is based off of stock b13 from SuperR. It comes with root access, SuperUser, some CM apps, and the Kitkat Camera. It is mostly deodexed except for a few stock apks in system/app. Soon enough, they will be deodexed too. Does anyone know of a good apk decompiler/compiler by the way? I will be posting a link to the rom later on tonight for those of you that want it.
    For now, Here is a list of included applications:
    Root Browser,
    KitKat Camera --> FC's with Panorama
    CMFileManager,
    Epic launcher,
    Coloured Statusbar,
    CMWallpapers,
    XposedMods AOSPLockscreen,
    XposedInstaller,
    Xposed SBIcons,
    GooManager,
    Samsung TaskManager --> I chose this because, I personally like this one more than the Zte's stock Manager.
    CM DeskClock --> FC's when adding alarms, I recommend downloading a 3rd Party app until this can be fixed.
    Torch,
    Terminal,
    Antek QuickSettings --> To setup for first use, find the application in the app drawer, and set it up as you like.
    Apollo --> FC with specific songs of mine, but I don't know how it will behave with you.
    I believe that this is it. The rom includes all of CM11's sounds too. I believe that this is all to be covered for now. Report any bugs to me either here, PM, or via gmail @ papdav12@gmail.com

    Once I get a hang of this and get a proper deodexing tool, I will start once more on the official KitKat rom for the Sequent. Thanks for all of your support!
     

Share This Page

Loading...