1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help me too!!! I'm really sorry!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mudking, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. mudking

    mudking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    136
    6
    36
    I know you guys will get annoyed with me now, because I already have a thread open about this. But I am so out of time! I am flashing my X to stock with maderstcok and I think it's done. This is my first time flashing a ROM, so I'm a little scared. I followed RoOoLer's Guide to select the maderstcok zip file from my card and let it run through the process. After the progress bar went all the way to the end (about 5 minutes) I am at a screen that says:

    Apply update from zip file on SD card

    Options are:
    -apply sdcard:update.zip
    -choose zip from sd card
    -toggle signature verification
    - toggle script asserts

    RoOoleR's Guide says to reboot here and not do anything else in clockwork, but do I need to select apply and then reboot from the menu? Or do I reboot by using the power button? I'm just a little bit confused!
     

    Advertisement

  2. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    1. Hit the power button once to go back to the "home screen".
    2. Select Wipe data/cache. (Just in case you have incompatible data which will boot loop you.). Hit the power button till you get back to "reboot system system now".
    3. Hit the select button (camera button) to reboot the system.

    GL
     
  3. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Yep, pressing the power button takes you back to the previous menu, then it is a very good idea to wipe data and cache before applying the reboot.
     
  4. mudking

    mudking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    136
    6
    36
    Thank you, both of you. But I went back with power button and I have
    -apply sdcard:update.zip
    -wipe data/factory reset
    -wipe cache partition

    So which wipe am I supposed to be doing?

    And I don't need to select "apply sdcard:update.zip" for it to actually apply?

    Thanks again!
     
  5. mudking

    mudking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    136
    6
    36
    I want to do the factory reset option. This should reboot me into the phone activation, right? I wwas running stock ROM, so do I really need to do the cache wipe?

    So, just select wipe data/factory reset and that should be all I need to do, right?
     
  6. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    yeah a factory reset should take you back to needing to activate the phone
     
    mudking likes this.
  7. mudking

    mudking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    136
    6
    36
    Thanks. I'm still really confused because a.l the guides and tutorials I find say not to do ANYTHING else in clockwork after applying the maderstcok update zip. And since they say, "after applying" I feel like I am supposed ot be selecting "apply sdcard:update.zip" I'm really not supposed to select this option first?

    My heart is racing, my hands are sweaty, this is stressful!
     
  8. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    you applied maderstcok when you installed it
     
  9. mudking

    mudking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    136
    6
    36
    Ok. I'm making this more confusing than it needs to be!

    So, I can just do a reboot now? I don't need to wipe or anything, right? I'm coming from stock ROM, just had a couple apps on there for root users, didn't really do anything else to the phone. So, just reboot is cool here, right?

    Everyone says not to do anything except reboot. I guess I'm gonna just reboot.
     
  10. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163

    you shouldn't NEED to...but it cant hurt at all to do it...

    if you proceed to wipe the cache partition, and do a data wipe your phone will literally be virgin
     
  11. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    I recommend you do it :D
     
  12. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    i'll second this motion...just do it...

    its one extra step to insure that everything goes right...nothing negative can come from doing the factory reset...only positive
     
  13. cabraswell

    cabraswell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    329
    39
    63
    Male
    Biomedical Technician
    Western NC
    I would just reboot as the guide states. If you do anything else in THAT recovery you might cause yourself some problems according to maderschramm.

    If your phone go's into a bootloop pull the battery and boot into stock recovery and do a factory reset/data wipe.
     
  14. mudking

    mudking Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    136
    6
    36
    Oh boy, it was a doozy. I did the reboot as recommended by maderschramm, it worked perfectly. Got it done then rushed to the verizon store, and got everything done. Sorry, tried to post back here, but I had wiped my phone and didn't have the password to log in!

    Anyway, all went well, and I am now familiar with how to do the process. To bad I returned my X and got a pair of TBs, so now I get to learn something new. Got the TB, and like it so far. Think I'm gonna love it so long as the battery holds out!

    Thanks so much for all the help here, I was really stressing doing this for the first time under the gun like that! Couldn't have done it without the help here though!

    Really, thanks a lot!
     

Share This Page

Loading...