1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help, my Droid has been freaking out for the last 24 hours!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nydrumboy, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. nydrumboy

    nydrumboy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    90
    1
    16
    I really need some help. My rooted Droid (UD 10) was fine until last night. All of a sudden, the notification shade keeps coming down and going back up again on its own, it's starting apps on its own and more.

    I went into the market to search for an app, and the phone started opening market apps, and actually went to buy one on it's own. I swear this thing is inhabited by ghosts.

    After it boots, I click on the widget for Advance Task Manager to clear the memory, and it's telling me that is stopped 25 apps. How is this even possible?

    I've rebooted the phone dozens of times, I've tried restoring backups I knew were good, and now I am installing the Verizon Stock image in the hope that this will help. Any thoughts from the group?
     

    Advertisement

  2. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,891
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,891
    6,120
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    Try a new ROM? Never used UD and I've never had this problem. I'd really recommend wiping data+cache and starting fresh with something like CM or BB. Any recent apps you installed that you might think were suspect?
     
  3. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    That's really odd. I had some issues when I first got my Droid, that aren't exactly like that, but of a similar ilk. Forget the task killer, go to Settings > Apps > Running Apps and kill anything that shouldn't be running. There is a chance you DLed a malicious app.
     
  4. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    JIT is disabled on UDROM through v.10 (He may have enabled it in NE, not sure).

    I'd recommend making a Titanium backup of your apps, and then getting rid of it and going with another ROM.

    Since you're in the market for a new ROM, hell, get the new FroYo - trust me, you'll love yourself for it. It does have JIT installed - and with it and an OC kernel you're running faster than the Google Nexus 1....
     
  6. cr3beast

    cr3beast Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    My droid did that today too. Mine isn't rooted though. Here's how I fixed it. Take out the battery, hold the power button down for 20 seconds, then put the battery back in and turn it on. I can't guarantee it will work for you, but it did for me so its worth giving it a shot. Good luck!
     
  7. nydrumboy

    nydrumboy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    90
    1
    16
    I just tried it, we'll see how it goes. I'm not sure how you figured that one out or why it would work...

    I installed the UD Froyo and while it's fast, I'm still having some issues, like the back button only sporadically working for me, and every once in a while the phone starts doing stuff all by itself. I'm going to backup this ROM, un-root and return the phone to Verizon tomorrow. I expect that they won't honor the warranty if I have rooted the phone.
     
  8. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ok did you try a ROM that was not made by UD? Sorry but with everything that has happened with that guy I wouldn't trust any of his ROMs.... Do a complete wipe and try a real ROM like CM or the Fabs new 2.2 release that is on this forum...
     
  9. ilmar72

    ilmar72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    233
    15
    38
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    Its probably not your rom. I just had this same problem the other day. Changing roms didn't fix it. Search my name amd you'll find the thread.
     
  10. ilmar72

    ilmar72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    233
    15
    38
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    Really. I had the same issues 100%. For. Over 24 hours. I thought my phone was shot too.
     
  11. nydrumboy

    nydrumboy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    90
    1
    16
    So what happened?
     
  12. knuckledragger

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    50
    1
    16
    My phone's been wigging out the last two days, too. Among other things, sometimes the touchscreen doesn't seem to be working at all. Sometimes, when there's a long list of things, it just scrolls all by itself up and down the entire list. Then, it will work fine for a while. I've tried a couple different ROMS today with the same results.
     
  13. nydrumboy

    nydrumboy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    90
    1
    16
    So if this many of us are experiencing these same problems maybe we've identified a bug in the phone or even a virus.

    In a sense, I'm glad I'm not alone in this, but certainly sorry that anyone else is going through the same issues.
     
  14. nydrumboy

    nydrumboy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    90
    1
    16
    I wonder if this is happening only on rooted phones or if it's also affecting stock phones?
     
  15. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    Go to manage apps and start ending processes from there. It's very likely you have too many things going. Just b/c you close out an app doesn't mean the process has ended. If you haven't done this, you'll want to.
     
  16. Pfilly

    Pfilly Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    348
    28
    63
    Sales Director:OnTime1405.com
    Wisconsin by way of Philadelphia
    Still have root and it seems fast at 600mhz. Its loading my apps as I type to you.
     
  17. ilmar72

    ilmar72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    233
    15
    38
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    If u look up in my previous post I said. Search my name I had a thread about this sunday.

    I believe you need to uninstall apps. And drop battery. Some strange conflict, but is resolvable.
     
  18. cr3beast

    cr3beast Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    What that does is it force clears the RAM. Sometimes info that should clear out on reset doesn't do it, taking out the battery and holding it down does that. Though, since you went on to say you are returning it to Verizon I take it that it didn't work for you?

    And to answer another question on here- This is not only happening to Rooted phones, mine is not rooted and it did the same thing.
     
  19. tubbmaster

    tubbmaster Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    Southern Utah

    what was the forum name? i still haven't been able to solve this issue on my phone. it is basically unusable at this point. i have noticed that when it wigs out, the left 3/4 inch of the screen does not respond at all, including back button.
     
  20. coled91

    coled91 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    146
    14
    58
    I had this problem with UD as well. It was the first time that my phone had ever done it and I was on UD 1.0. I changed ROMS and it actually just did it again last night not as bad but for about 15 mins or so the phone ran horribly. I don't know exactly what it is. I have a replacement droid and my first one never gave me any of those problems. I know my replacement isnt as good as the first one as I cannot run certain kernels etc that I could before. Hopefully it isn't the phone crapping out as I cannot afford to get another one
     
  21. ejl2010

    ejl2010 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    82
    2
    16
    I used to have a problem with my screen going haywire as well. Things were launching all on its own. Eventually I noticed it was because I sweat a lot and my droid screen faces the interior of my pants. This created moisture on the screen and I noticed this was the cause of the phone going crazy.

    The fix...Don't let the screen get moist like that. Either take it out of your pocket or make the screen face outside.

    Not sure if this is absolutely the case but was something that worked for me.
     
  22. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    This has been answered countless times. As the above user says, it's just a hardware issue, inherent to capacitive touchscreens. Dirt, moisture, and humidity can affect things. There's nothing you can do besides clean up your screen, preferably with high-concentration isopropyl alcohol.
     
  23. jms8757

    jms8757 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    1
    0
    5

    My phone has just started doing the same thing. It hasn't been rooted. Did you find a way to correct your problem? I'm out of warranty and Motorola will fix it for free unless they find water or physical damage. Since I've dropped it a year or so ago, I'm afraid they'll see that dent and say it's because of that. Any suggestions?
     
  24. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    Mine did something weird last night also. I was running a deodexed FRG22D and the battery ran out. I plugged it in and it booted up and was charging. I came back to it to check and it was at 70% a while later. Next check it was at the recovery screen and when I rebooted from recovery it went to another rom I had backed up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...