1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help My galaxy a5 is broken

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RanchoRelaxo, Jun 8, 2016.

  1. RanchoRelaxo

    RanchoRelaxo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016

    Jun 8, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    I rooted my galaxy A5 with king root. i tried to factory reset it but when it gets to checking for updates it dosnt go any further! its been 6 hours and it hasnt moved on! can somone please help me?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,935
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,935
    2,855
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    What is the complete model number?
     
  3. RanchoRelaxo

    RanchoRelaxo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016

    Jun 8, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    the complete model # is SM-A500w
     
  4. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,935
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,935
    2,855
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Couldn't find anything at Sammobile but found firmware here.
    https://samsung-firmware.org/model/SM-A500W/

    You use Odin to flash back to stock.
    If you are able to turn the phone off and boot into recovery, the second line should show the current firmware version and that would be the one to look for.
     
  5. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,935
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,935
    2,855
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  6. RanchoRelaxo

    RanchoRelaxo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016

    Jun 8, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    ok i flashed it what do i do now?
     
  7. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,935
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,935
    2,855
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    If the flash was successful, the phone should have rebooted and took you to the set up screen.
     
  8. RanchoRelaxo

    RanchoRelaxo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016

    Jun 8, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    its doing the same thing and is not going past "checking for updates"
     
  9. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,935
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,935
    2,855
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Flashing the stock firmware should have removed everything that Kingroot did to the phone and put it back to out of the box condition. Try turning off the phone and removing the sim card. Should not search for updates without a data connection and may let you start set up
     

Share This Page

Loading...