1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help my touch screen is not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bjellys, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. bjellys

    bjellys Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Hi all my touch screen has suddenly stopped working I can boot up to the launch screen but it will not unlock.
    If I change loader to infohome When I tap any icons nothing happens.
    I can navigate to certain places using a USB keyboard.
    can anyone help please.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tspoon

    tspoon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Where did you purchase your unit? I got mine from DHGate, am currently in the process of trying to return it.

    I find with my one if I turn it sideways the touch feature works at the bottom only. In landscape mode barely at all.

    Things I have tried so far include installing an SSH server and SSHing in from my PC.
    The calibration file is located in /data/misc/tscal/pointercal
    The config file is located in /system/etc/ts.conf

    some helpful programs are in /system/bin/ such as ts_print and ts_print_raw
    you can use them from a terminal to see the output from the touchscreen in the terminal window

    I've worked out this much so far, if anyone else has info would appreciate cheers
     
  3. tspoon

    tspoon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    this is the kind of output I get from ts_print_raw while moving my finger firmly from the top right to the bottom left of the screen
    Can anyone help with interpreting these numbers?

    tslib: Selected device is a single touchscreen)
    1601.631023: 4087 3661 1073
    tslib: Selected device is a single touchscreen)
    1601.751327: 4087 3648 958
    tslib: Selected device is a single touchscreen)
     
  4. tspoon

    tspoon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    here is the output for the same movement from ts_print i.e. after the filters are applied by tslib


    tslib: Selected device is a single touchscreen)
    ============>dejitter_read
    ==========>variance_read
    tslib: Selected device is a single touchscreen)
    tslib: Selected device is a single touchscreen)
    VARIANCE----------------> 4087 3647 712
    1690.001020: 4087 3647 712
    ============>dejitter_read
    ==========>variance_read
    tslib: Selected device is a single touchscreen)
    VARIANCE----------------> 4087 3647 934
    DEJITTER----------------> 4087 3647 850
    1690.120928: 4087 3647 850
    ============>dejitter_read
    ==========>variance_read
    tslib: Selected device is a single touchscreen)
    VARIANCE----------------> 4088 3646 1090
    DEJITTER----------------> 4087 3646 970
    1690.191016: 4087 3646 970
    ============>dejitter_read
    ==========>variance_read
    tslib: Selected device is a single touchscreen)



    for anyone else, I have managed to work out what some of it is. The first number is a timestamp in seconds since system startup. The second and third seem to be the X,Y numbers returned from the touchscreen ADC's. I think the third maybe how hard you're pressing, but not too sure on that one. In my case the ADC output is not altering, so there is some sort of manufacturing fault with my unit.
     
  5. bjellys

    bjellys Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    All sorted now the screen is cracked
     

Share This Page

Loading...