1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help...nandroid is getting stuck...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sushifor5, Nov 18, 2011.

  1. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    I'm trying to do a backup in my xionia recovery and it is stuck on "Backing up sd-ext..."

    This happened a few hours ago, but I figured it was b/c my battery was almost dead...I plugged in the phone and it didn't help. So, I pulled the battery...didn't know what else to do.

    I charged the phone fully, then rebooted it into xionia and am trying to make backup...it is again stuck on the "sd-ext..."

    What should I do? Any idea why this is happening? Is my phone injured? :eek:

    TIA!
     

    Advertisement

  2. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    Depending on how much you have on you're ext partition it can take a while. I have about 350 megs on mine and it takes about 10 minutes for cwm recovery to back it up, plus a few minutes for the rest of the backup.
     
    weddle and sushifor5 like this.
  3. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    OK, so it could take a while...

    The funny thing is that I went ahead and pulled the battery after waiting 15 minutes...the screen never changed, it looked stuck on "Backing up sd-ext." But when I turned the phone on and went into my file manager, there was a nandroid for today in it.

    Odd?
     
  4. G19

    G19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    648
    102
    93
    That backup is likely incomplete and will probably fail or not boot correctly
     
    sushifor5 likes this.
  5. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    OK, i'm going to try again...
     
  6. G19

    G19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    648
    102
    93
    Get it to work?
     
  7. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    I leave mine and go do something else it can take up to 30 minutes for me.
     
  8. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    OK guys, still need help here with xionia nandroid...i tried again this morning and it took 25 minutes, then went to black screen, and now this is what the screen says (at the bottom):

    E:Error in CACHE:recover/log
    (No space left on device)

    Help please? Thanks much!

    edit: i did hit reboot (the top of the screen had that option) b/c i didn't know what else to do...but i hope someone can instruct me thru this issue. thanks!

    EDIT again: just for reference, my internal storage has 78% free and my sd card has 57% free. so i don't know where the lack of space would be; nor do i know what the CACHE:recover/log is. thanks for any assistance!! i want to try to flash a custom ROM for the first time and now don't think i can....
     
  9. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    try backing up your sd-ext on a pc and formatting that partition on your sd after that, then try nandroid backup again.
    you could also back up and reformat the while sd card before a nandroid, maybe it's corrupted.
     
  10. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    OK, so...get ready to be amazed at my uber-dumbness, LOL...

    Ummm, what is the sd-ext? I have a 16gb sd with two FAT partitions for Link2sd...the main partition is all my "stuff" like music, videos, etc... the other partition is all the Links.

    When Xionia is running the backup and it says, "Backing up sd-ext..." does that just mean it's backing up the entire sd card?

    i had my Links partition get corrupted a while back and i managed to fix it with my mac; i can look at that again...

    thanks!

    EDIT: ok, here's a piece of info that may or may not be significant to anyone who really understands these things:

    i looked at my nandroids that i have stored on my computer. all of them contain the following files:
    boot.img
    cache.img
    data.img
    nandroid.md5
    recovery.img
    sd-ext.img
    system.img

    The last two nandroid i made (in the last month) do NOT contain the nandroid.md5 file.

    Does that matter? Of course I don't know what any of those things are and what they do, but I noticed a discrepancy and wondered if it was a clue to my current malfunction.
     
  11. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Ive had issues where I just flashed the new rom without doing a nandroid. Something went wrong where it wont backup. Just make sure you back up your apps with titanium before you flash the rom. I think this relates to your memory issue. A good full wipe and fresh rom will be good for you.
     
  12. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    OK, just to give the latest news on the problem...I had downloaded a bunch of video podcasts to my phone a few days ago, and even though I still had lots of room left on my sd card, i deleted them. i tried to do the nandroid, no help...still stuck on "sd-ext" part, I waited for 45 minutes and then pulled battery.

    I did as squid suggested and popped my sd card into my mac and ran disk utility (i had done this procedure a while back when my Links sd partition became garbled). disk utility said the partition was bad (again? how does my Link2sd partition keep getting scrambled??)...so I ran disk repair...it took 4 times and then it was fixed.

    i put the card back in the phone, rebooted, and only had to fix my GoLauncher theme...all else was fine. I did the nandroid again, and.......

    .....it WORKED!! yay!!! so, it was a corrupted disk issue.

    OK, I really, really, really want to understand how my Links partition is getting corrupt willy nilly...is this a common occurrence after downloading apps for a while? any insight guys?

    ben, i definitely hear you...i want to try a custom rom...i just wanted this situation fixed first. and i am not clear on how to switch my recovery...need more help on that one...reading other links didn't clear it up for me.

    i'm thinking i'd like to do an "easy" custom rom for my first flash...i'm still thinking harmonia b/c i have xionia recovery. then i might "flash up," LOL.

    ok, if you all have any insight to share at this point, fire away. thanks!!
     
  13. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Harmonia is the best start not much extra to learn with that. The links I gave you a while ago will get you going.
     
    sushifor5 likes this.
  14. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    Never mind, beat me to it.
     
  15. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho

    I am going to follow your instructions & I'll holler if I get stuck, lol!
     
    benslgdroid likes this.
  16. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea

    Holla! Lol
     
  17. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    Oh, hey, quick Harmonia question b/c my memory is like a sieve lately...

    Will I need to sign in again to my google accounts to get my contacts, etc? will the google apps be there on harmonia or do i need to download them all again?

    Will I need to somehow download adobe flash?

    can't remember what comes with certain roms...

    TIA!
     
  18. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    You will need to get flash everything else it has but you will need to relog into Google
     
  19. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    OK, I found the instructions you had given me and pasted them into a document on my computer...read it a couple times. Week is hectic, haven't had much time for anything "extra." So, just want to make sure I understand before jumping in....

    Am I correct in assuming that this process of wiping and flashing the new ROM will erase my sd card? so anything on it i want i should transfer to my laptop?

    So how would I, if I for any reason wanted to, get back to my "pre-flash" stock rom if the sd card is empty? i imagine i'd need to transfer my last stock nandroid from my laptop to my phone, but don't know where it would go...after flashing harmonia, will there be files on my sd card like there are now? will my recovery be on the sd card?

    And, for signing in to my google accounts again, how would i access that?

    i am unsure of what to expect once the new rom is on...like what the phone will look like. will it be like it was when i first got it from VM and activated it...minus the VM bloatware?

    ok, thanks for your time!! i'll be honest, the biggest thing holding me back right now is the time and effort it will take to do this and set up my Link2sd again and get all my apps back.

    oh, that's another question...can't quite grasp from your flash instructions...i'm still not comprehending how my sd card will end up correctly partitioned for Link2sd after i flash harmonia...originally i needed to manually partition using my computer. will i need to do the process again?

    ok, that's it...thanks for your patience!!
     
  20. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    It won't format the card just the partition. Everything will be pretty much the same with harmonia slightly faster and better life from what I remember.

    Just open the market and it will prompt you to sign in.

    Your card will stay partitioned. For link2sd set it to autolink and use titanium to batch restore your backed up apps. It will do most of it for you.
     
    sushifor5 likes this.
  21. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho

    Great, thanks...umm, how does it know which partition to format?
     
  22. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Its complicated. It was set when you partitioned it. That's one of those things you don't over think and just let it do its job. Just don't select format card. When you select factory reset it will do it for you.
     
  23. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    LOL, ok, i get it...don't overthink everything...hard to do. ;)

    so, here are the directions i have from you and i don't see a step for factory reset...just want to be sure these are the exact directions i should use? TIA!

    back up all user apps with titanium backup.

    reboot into recovery

    select option backup/restore then backup then yes once completed push back to get to the main menu.

    select the option wipe/format

    select option install zip from SD

    go to your download folder and find and select harmonia.zip(name will be slightly different)

    select yes

    wait until it says flashed successful (menu options will reapear)

    push the back button

    select reboot

    open the market and sign in

    find and download titanium backup then find and download link2SD

    run link2SD

    select ext 3 (if error select fat32)

    reboot(don't fast reboot it always causes problems for me)

    run link2SD again

    push your menu key then select settings then turn on auto link

    

    exit link2SD

    run titanium backup

    restore all your user apps

    they should auto link but some might not

    run link2SD push menu key

    select filter then in phone

    link whatever is there

    push menu key select filter on SD

    move anything there to phone

    push menu key select filter on phone link everything you just moved to phone.

    if you run out of space reboot just like in macfett tutorial and continue linking

    now you should be running harmonia and all linked.
     
  24. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    don't forget to make a backup in recovery first! just in case, you know. (go to backup/restore, select backup, wait for it to finish.)
    the wipe/format step needs to be a few steps.
    format cache, data, and system.
    once you're booted you're out of my area of expertise with the market and app restoration.
    good luck!

    by the way, a few people have had problems with the boot.img not flashing right from harmonia, and it won't boot into the rom. you can use this anykernel .zip in recovery after flashing the rom if it won't boot. it's the same kernel from the newest harmonia.
     
    sushifor5 likes this.
  25. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    That's the wipe/format step. Also as squid said make the backup in recovery before wiping anything
    Also with the new update to link2sd you just have to select what is in sd then select create link. It will move and link on its own.
     
    sushifor5 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...