1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HELP! Need to reinstall amazon mp3 to /system

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Phateless, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    Removed amazon mp3 but accidentally deleted my backup. Now my update to 2.2 failed because that app isn't there.

    What to do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    BUMP - need help.
     
  3. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    Can anyone give me some adb instructions on how to do this?
     
  4. dasudevil

    dasudevil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    609
    45
    88
    Forklift driver for Frito Lay
    Gilbert, Arizona
  5. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
  6. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    The adb commands are

    adb remount
    adb push "whatever the amazon.apk name is" /system/app
    adb reboot

    Make sure the apk is in your tools folder

    Or you can just save it to your sd card and move it to system/app using File explorer
     
  7. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    Tried using Linda File Manager and got denied.

    As for the other commands, can I do this through terminal emulator or do I need adb? What exactly does remount do anyway? And will push MOVE the file or copy it?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  8. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Yea, you can do it thru terminal emulator

    commands are ...

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    cd /system/app
    mv amazon.apk amazon.bak
    cat /sdcard/amazon.apk > /system/app/amazon.apk
    sync
    mount -o remount,r -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system

    adb remount is just a quicker way to get read/write access, instead of doing the "mount -o remount" mumbo jumbo

    Also you need root explorer or any other file explorer that has su permission.
     
  9. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    Awesome, thank you!
     
  10. sensesfail99

    sensesfail99 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    314
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    314
    12
    38
    SLC, UT
    I wonder if i wiped my wifes old mytouch and then saved a backup file if i could then email it to you as an attachment and you could load that backup on your phone? I dont see why that wouldnt work...
     
  11. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    If you did it through titantium backup it might work! I thought about SAPPIMGing my phone just so I could get that backup, lol.
     
  12. sensesfail99

    sensesfail99 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    314
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    314
    12
    38
    SLC, UT
    We can try. But the bad news is I wont be able to try til Sunday.
     
  13. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    sent you a pm phateless, this should do the trick.
     
    Phateless likes this.
  14. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    Thank you! Just replied, will report back.
     
  15. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Cool, let us know if it works. :)
     
  16. Phateless

    Phateless Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    557
    22
    63
    Hire me! - www.linkedin.com/in/jresneck
    SF Bay Area
    WOW... a whole week of searching the forums and dicking around with adb. *sigh*

    Thank you SO much! I don't think the program is actually installed, but I really don't care, as long as the ota update sees that it's there and installs properly, I'm good.
     

Share This Page

Loading...