1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help Needed Re: Flashing Stock ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JohnnyBravo1000, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    Ok, I need to unroot and restore the stock ROM on my HTC Desire.

    This is the RUU I am using.

    Shipped ROMs

    It works fine until it gets to the radio part. The radio part is what is failing for some reason.

    I get a message saying the radio part fails, but it's the same radio that is currently on my phone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You may have an issue with your radio NVRAM then. Have you tried using the PB99IMG.zip method instead?

    Does it not go back to stock then? Are you still rooted? If it does everything else but fails on radio, if everything else is stock, does it matter?
     
  3. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    It doesn't manage to boot up. It just says it's unsuccessful and it shows on the boot menu (white screen) that is failed on the radio.

    I haven't tried the PB99IMG.zip as I don't know how to do it that way. :eek:

    At the moment I can only get HTC and an exclamation mark in each corner.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You put the "PB99IMG.zip" (not pb99img.zip or .zip.zip) on the root of your sd card (i.e not in a folder) and boot to hboot (providing it is still there) and it will do the rest
     
  5. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    Gotcha. I'll give that a go and report back.
     
    SUroot likes this.
  6. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    I can't even access the HBoot menu.

    I can only get HTC in the middle of the screen and an exclamation mark in every corner.
     
  7. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    For reference, this is what I get after the failed attempt.

    BRAVO PVT1 SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT-0.93.0001
    MCROP-031d
    TOUCH PANEL- SYNW0101
    RADIO - 5.11.05.27

    RUU

    Parsing... [downloaded ZIP]

    [1] USERDATA - OK
    [2] RADIO_CUST - OK
    [3] RECOVERY - OK
    [4] BOOTLOADER - OK
    [5] SPLASH1 - OK
    [6] BOOT - OK
    [7] RADIO_V2 - Fail-PU
    [8] SYSTEM - OK
    [9] SPLASH2 - OK

    Partition update fail!
    Update fail!
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Not good. Try another RUU with goldcard. If that fails, may be a radio brick
     
  9. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    I think it's a radio brick, mate.

    What are my chances of returning it to HTC and hoping the fix it. I suppose I could play dumb and say it was constantly rebooting and then ended up with the screen I get now and won't do anything.

    I've got two months until my upgrade......
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I think returning it should be fine as this has been known to happen on ota's
     
    JohnnyBravo1000 likes this.
  11. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    Cheers mate. I never knew that! I'd hear about the red triangle and exclamation mark after OTA updates, but not the exclamation mark in each corner.

    Do they fix my phone? Or do they give me a new one?

    I assume my phone is now unrooted then.... just bricked? Hence why they won't know it's been rooted etc.

    I'll have to tell them I suffered from constant reboots (motherboard related) and then this happened when I tried to do an OTA update.....

    ...then hope for the best! :D

    Any idea whether it's worth going through T-Mobile or direct to HTC?
     
  12. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    Just an update.

    Called T-Mobile and explained the problem. I was told that the phone is still under warranty and I can take it to the T-Mobile shop and they will send it off to repair.

    Fingers crossed it comes back in working order! :D
     
  13. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    In short, I'm not impressed with T-Mobile's handling of the situation so far.

    I spoke with to customer services yesterday and I was told to take my Desire into any T-Mobile store and they would ensure it's sent off for repair. I was also told that a note had been made on my account of the problems I described, so it could be easily identified by the shop when they access my account. I went into my nearest T-Mobile store today and was told they could not accept my phone as I didn't get my upgrade from that store, or any other T-Mobile store. Despite telling the shop assistant I was clearly to drop it into by customer services, I was told to ring customer services again and ask for a bag to be sent out to me. I could then send the phone off for repair in that bag. To infuriate me even more, I was told that the store couldn't see any note which has been put on my account; not because one hadn't been left, but because they can no longer see the. I think the latter is totally rubbish, but I have no way of proving otherwise.

    I called T-Mobile again and the chap I spoke to seemed adamant the store should have taken the handset. In the end I had to tell him the problems (again) and a bag is going to be sent out to be in....... wait for it....... 5-7 working days! So I have to wait up to a week, maybe longer, for a bag to be delivered; and then, and only then I can send my phone off for repair.
     
  14. teppic74

    teppic74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    441
    146
    68
    You can arrange a return with HTC directly. That might be easier.
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Definitely.
     
  16. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    Cheers lads.

    I've read that T-Mobile don't actually send the phones to HTC to be repaired? Would I be better off dealing directly with HTC?
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I always would.
     
  18. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    I think I may contact them. Surely they can't take any longer than T-Mobile to send a bag to me? :D
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Your phone will probably be away from you for 2 weeks. Not sure how long the bag will take to come though. Contact them now and the bag will be on its way ;)
     
  20. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    Sent the phone off this morning.

    It's now time to play the waiting game!
     
  21. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    Just another update.

    Phone was received by the repair centre this morning. Just waiting for it to be "screened".
     
    SUroot likes this.
  22. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    Just another update for anybody who is interested, especially those who are interested in the timescale and turnaround.

    My repair is complete and the phone is awaiting a final inspection. The repair took place yesterday according to the repair tracker on the T-Mobile website.

    I now have a new IMEI number and the following is my repair summary:

    - Screening
    - Replacement - Speaker,KDIC,MPS111508BA
    - Replacement - Main Board,TMEU,English-UK,GBR,HTC,Regional IDLow,Brown,w/ SIM Lock,BRAVO-O3
    - Software update
    - Adjustment

    I assume the screening was to diagnose the problem.

    A replacement speaker is self-explanatory, but I'm unsure what the problem with it was.
    A replacement main board is a motherboard, I assume?
     
  23. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It is. It sounds like an almost full replacement phone...
     
  24. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    that would have been sent to htc from tmobile. thats a specialist change they are talking there and only htc repair centres can do that. (have a look at the disassembly video)
    not sure about the speaker but the mobo would have been replaced as the nvram is borked. bad radio flash is a dead device in nearly all cases and one of the reasons I always warn against it unless there is a radio inefficiency
    in your case you couldnt avoid it as it was part of RUU.
    If this died its likely the nvram was knackered anyway and why they replaced instead of using a clip to flash the radio stack.

    out of interest what was the reason for returning it to stock in the first place?
     
  25. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    Cheers mate.

    Cheers mate.

    I returned it to stock so I could return the phone to T-Mobile/HTC to get the reboot problem fixed. I didn't want to sent the phone off rooted and with a custom ROM incase they wouldn't fix it under the warranty.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...