1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

help needed rooting, complete noob

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by blobq, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    hi

    I have been reading some how to's on rooting & installing custom roms.

    Im looking to install these:

    checkrom revolution v4
    kitchen ap
    siyah kernal

    My S2 is unbranded & is on the latest 2.3.6 firmware (KK5)

    After reading too much into how to do this i have got my self confused, do i need to do this:

    1. CF root (how do i do this? is it from odin?)
    2. Install the check rom
    3. install the kitchen ap
    4. Installl syiah from the kitchen ap or other kernal.
    5.install baseband KP5

    Do i do all this from odin? I have downloaded the files needed, just not sure on how to do this.

    please help a noob.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    Exactly right!

    1. Root with chain fire method. Use chain fires kk5 insecure kernel. Follow his instructions. Yes, you use odin for this.

    2. Download check rom zip file to your memory card and instal zip via cwm.

    3. Kitchen app gets installed automatically with the rom.

    4. Siyah kernels can then be installed through the kitchen directly, although the newest versions are only available on the siyah site (see the siyah thread). It's easy to try a few different kernels from the kitchen and see what's best for you.

    5. base bands are also installed from the kitchen. Again, try a few, and the latest may not be on there yet. Kp8 is also very popular.
     
  3. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    2. Download check rom zip file to your memory card and instal zip via cwm.

    sorry what is cwm??

    i have downloaded the checkrom to my pc, is it a case of transfering this on to my SD card? if so which one, internal or the external sd, i have both.
     
  4. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    When you root via the cf-root (chainfire) method, this installs an insecure kernel (one with su, busybox etc) Included in this is CWM Recovery (referred to generally as cwm) This is basically a bootable revocery program which will be THE most important and most used program you will ever use on a rooted device.

    To get into CWM recovery, with the phone off, gold vol-up+home+power until you see the Samsung logo come up on the screen. When this appears, stop pressing the buttons. You will then boot up into CWM recovery. This is a menu system allowing you to install .zip files, perform full backups/restores, clear cache etc etc....

    As to internal/external card, it doesnt matter, as CWM allows you to install from either
     
  5. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    excellent

    many thanks for your help.

    PS.

    one last question, when i root will my contacts etc be lost? i have copied these onto my sim, i have an app called titanium backup but it says i need to root first. Are there other ways to back up my contacts, txts pics etc?
     
  6. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    You shouldn't loose contacts. but always a good idea to back them up eg. On pc or through google account etc
     
    blobq likes this.
  7. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    thanks guys i'll let you know how i get on tomorrow.
     
  8. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    hi

    i failed at the first hurdle, i cannot get CF root to work.

    Ive tried both these steps but nothing works

    Instructions - ODIN (long)
    - Follow these instructions to the letter. Do not touch any buttons or checkboxes that are not listed below to touch!
    - Unzip the attached CF-Root-xxx-vX.X.zip
    - (USB) Disconnect your phone from your computer
    - Start ODIN
    - Click the PDA button, and select CF-Root-xxx-vX.X.tar
    - Put your phone in download mode
    - (USB) Connect the phone to your computer
    - Make sure repartition is NOT checked
    - Click the START button
    - Wait for the phone to reboot
    - Done (if it took you more than 30 seconds, you need practise!)

    nothing happens, just get yellow box in ID.com, waited for 10 mins.


    Instructions - If you already have CF-Root
    - Copy the zip file to your SD card
    - Stop sharing SD card with computer over USB, unplug the cable, etc
    - Applications -> CWM -> Flash kernel. Select the ZIP file on your SD card.
    - Done

    copied over to xternal SD, can see the files there, but no CWM in applications. i can see the zip file but get error when opening,

    "open file, no application can perform this."

    help.
     
  9. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    Check you've got kies installed. Your pc needs the drivers. But make sure kies is not running at the same time as Odin.

    Does that help?
     
  10. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    im a noob

    was trying to do this with phone on, forgot to go into recovery mode.
     
  11. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    Glad you worked it out for yourself.

    We're all noobs when doing something for the first time. That what have I done wrong feeling is part of the fun ;)
     
  12. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    looking on the kitchen ap but cannot find siyah 2.6.6, have you got a link for this?

    also looking for kp8 modem
     
  13. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,460
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,460
    5,682
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
  14. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    all done many thanks

    time for a play with different themes
     
  15. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    Cool. Well done. Enjoy
     
  16. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,460
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,460
    5,682
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Congratulations! :D

    Don't forget to do a nandroid backup of your new set-up.... just in case. ;)
     
  17. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    hi

    in the kitchen ap i have installed the ICS v1.6 theme but the home button does not work.

    is there any other sites i can download different themes from?
     
  18. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,460
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,460
    5,682
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    JKay's Deluxe themes:-

    [Theme/Mod/Apk] XWKL1/KK5 - JKay Deluxe v13.4.1 - How the SGS2 should be! 2012-01-02 - xda-developers

    Saw the above in the Siyah thread and thought I would try and kill two birds with one stone as it may not be a Siyah problem.

    From this thread it would seem as though you have installed a heck of a lot on your phone in under 24 hours which means that it will not be easy to track down the culprit, or culprits, for your problems.

    Just a few quick questions...

    1. Did you do a full wipe when installing CheckROM (or have you tried a full wipe since, as recommended), to see if this sorts your problem?

    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-s2-...1620-checkrom-dummies-guide-installation.html

    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-s2-...l-wipe-whats-big-deal-steps-take-15-mins.html

    2. Did you do a kernel wipe before installing Siyah?

    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-s2-...469630-my-gs2-cleaner-script-v1-2-now-up.html

    3. Have you installed BetterBatteryStats from the Market to monitor your battery use?

    https://market.android.com/details?...sImNvbS5hc2tzdmVuLmJldHRlcmJhdHRlcnlzdGF0cyJd

    4. Have you installed CPU Spy from the Market to monitor your CPU usage?

    https://market.android.com/details?...251bGwsMSwxLDEsImNvbS5idmFsb3Nlay5jcHVzcHkiXQ..

    5. Have you removed, "bloatware", from your phone?

    http://androidforums.com/3213700-post161.html

    To get the, "perfect", phone for yourself takes a lot of time and effort I'm afraid. For most of us it has been a long process of trial and error over the last 6+ months. There is no, "one size fits all", answer as different phones, CPU's, usages, do vary. I'm afraid it is a case of trial and error combined with a lot of reading and research.
     
  19. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    hi

    i didnt do a full wipe, i may do that now & along with your gs2 clean scripts.

    do i do the wipe first then your clean script?

    will i need to re-install the rom or kernal?


    also i hear yu guys talking about voltage control settings & govenors, do i need to tit around with these?
     
  20. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,982
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,982
    3,805
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    You won't need to reflash the rom but if you flash the cleaning script you will need to flash the kernel after.

    You don't have to you voltage control but its definitely something worth looking into. It can help uppity to tell your phone to optimise battery or performance.
     
  21. blobq

    blobq Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    hi

    done the full wipe etc & will see how i get on.

    one thing tho, when booting up i get the "coloured shattered glass wheel?"
    this takes ages to go, how can i remove it?

    also how can i get rid of the warning triangle.
     
  22. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,982
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,982
    3,805
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England

Share This Page

Loading...