• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Help needed

jhj159

Lurker
Oct 22, 2010
Im having trouble with my captivate. Ibought this phone from a friend of mine and clams its stock. I am also having trouble with signal as well. I get no signal at all, i took it to a att store and they tried there sim card and they got three bars.I also tired 3 different sim cards and still i get no signal. The firmware version is 2.1-update1, Baseband version I897UCjF6 , Kernel version 2.6.29 jetaek.lee@sep-11#2 , and build number Eclair... please someone help me with this im new to this and wondering if the reason why im not getting a signal is because of the wrong baseband or kernel...:(

A few questions,

So at the AT&T store they tried their sim and got 3 bars at the AT&T store?

You tried your card at the att store and go no bars? and 3 different Soms got no bars? At the store or away from the store or where?

Are the Sims AT&T sims?

Do you get an AT&T signal at your house?

Is the Sim card bad?

Its seems to me that If AT&T used a one of their SIMs and got a signal, that means the phone is ok. All the numbers sound right off the tomp of my head.

So If AT&T used a card that got a signal

-The phone is working (nothing wrong with its fuctions or firmwares)
-They have signal at their shop (probably a micro cell in back)

So, if you tried your SIM in the AT&T store where there is a known signal. then that would most likely mean something wrong with your card.

Ask AT&T to cook you up a new card.
---------

If you did not try your SIM at the store where there is a known signal, and tried it elsewere, then perhaps the area you are trying it in has no signal.

Go to a location with a known signal and try again.