1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HELP! no google apps!?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bryanwells9, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. bryanwells9

    bryanwells9 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    my friend rooted his phone with unrevoked and then installed cyanogenmod 6, well the problem is that; 1 he forgot to backup the phone first, and 2 during the install cyanogen asked him if he wanted google apps (with the market included) and for some dumb reason he unchecked them.

    so he is stuck with an incredible on cyanogen with no back up and no android market! what do i do from here? i have tried installing the "google apps" after and still no market.

    is there any way to get the phone to recover from lets say ANOTHER incredible's back up that was put on an sd card?

    thanks for the help,
    bryan.
     

    Advertisement

  2. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Just go back into recovery, wipe data/cache/davlik. Reflash CM and then flash google apps BEFORE rebooting. You should be good to go. Just an FYI that CM7 is available for the Inc and it's pretty sick. May want to check it out instead. Also, don't do the wipes/flashing through Rom Manager. Do it manually! http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/forum-132/announcement-5-cm7-nightlies/
     
  3. bryanwells9

    bryanwells9 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    oh ok well i will give this a shot tonight and see what happens. thanks for the input. i'll tell you how it goes
     
  4. bryanwells9

    bryanwells9 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    So when i wipe the phone it just restarts with the cyanogen rom. I cant get back to the original rom.
     
  5. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I was under the impression you wanted a working CM with google apps (market)? If you want a stock ROM that can be done, you just have to be more specific
     
  6. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    THIS is as close to stock as you're going to get without running the RUU and losing root. If you want to unroot and be stock, that can be done as well
     
  7. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA

    correction to that, this is as close as you will get to stock with root:
    http://www.virtuousrom.com/p/other-releases.html
     
    WormDoes likes this.
  8. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I was looking for that, used to have it bookmarked on my old laptop, but I couldn't find it. I'm not sure what this guy is trying to do, but at least he has options now
     
  9. bryanwells9

    bryanwells9 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    so i'm a little noob i guess you could say, any better explanation on how to install this would help much. i think im missing a fe stepps
     
  10. andrix10

    andrix10 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    California
    just get cm6.1 or cm7 which is like the best rom ever
     
  11. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    You d/l the ROM and place it on root of sd card (not in any folder) and flash like any other ROM
     

Share This Page

Loading...