1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help No Keyboard!

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Munky999, Apr 10, 2016.

  1. Munky999

    Munky999 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016

    Apr 10, 2016
    12
    4
    26
    UK
    Was running VERY low on space so ended up doing a factory reset. Now as I had been running low on space I had deleted a lot of stuff including apps I didn't use, including all keyboards except the one I was using. Google Keyboard.

    Phone back up and running after reset but the google keyboard not there until I sign in to google. I can't sign into google without a keyboard. The only 'keyboard' available for me to select is Google Voice Typing but it won't recognise a spoken email address. HELP!!

     

    Advertisement

  2. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,513
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,513
    13,634
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Well, if you didn't make a backup in Recovery before deleting system elements you're kinda stuck. You'll have to reflash the stock firmware for your specific device or install a custom ROM in Recovery. This is one reason why we emphasize how important it is to make backups BEFORE doing anything in the /System partition. Good luck :)
     
    tube517 likes this.
  3. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,846
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,846
    1,918
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Hi

    If you have deleted the default system keyboard, I guess your phone must be rooted? If so, do you have a nandroid backup you could restore?
     
  4. Munky999

    Munky999 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016

    Apr 10, 2016
    12
    4
    26
    UK
    @The_Chief Yes I backed up first via 'LG back up'. It's telling me I can't restore as the google accounts don't match! But thanks for your condescending 'help'.

    @girolez I was rooted via King Root. I was trying to install a recovery but was struggling to find a compatible one so I used the LG back up (see above).
     
  5. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,299
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,299
    23,481
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    girolez, mikedt and Munky999 like this.
  6. Munky999

    Munky999 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016

    Apr 10, 2016
    12
    4
    26
    UK
    @Mikestony Done. Thank you so much for your help. :)
     
    girolez and Mikestony like this.
  7. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,513
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,513
    13,634
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I never meant it to be condescending. The easiest thing to do in the event of a system failure is to wipe the phone and restore the nandroid backup... then start over. Why the Google accounts don't match is a bit of a mystery, but I'm glad you got things straightened out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...