1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root help phone broke force restart

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by amanda3000, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. amanda3000

    amanda3000 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hi i really need help, i flashed my phone which was fine. i then installed x10 dark them to change notification bar. when the phone restarted com.android.phone has stopped keeps coming up then my phone resets itself. i have no clue what to do it wont stay on long enough to wipe it or flash it. please help
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,478
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Welcome to the forums, Amanda.

    Please tell us which of the many Android devices you're having trouble with so we can better help you, and also so we can move your question thread to the right area for you.

    You might also mention a few things such as whether or not it is rooted, etc. ;)
     
  3. amanda3000

    amanda3000 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    hi, thanku, im using x10 yes its rooted aswell
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,478
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    You're probably going to have to get into the recovery menu.

    Most Android devices do that by a combination of two buttons such as holding the volume down button while pressing the power button, or volume up and power, or both up and down at the same time and power, etc.

    You'll have to experiment to find it, unless somebody with that device chimes in. Just be sure to be patient and hold them for 5 or more seconds or until something appears on the screen, then release.

    One thing they all have in common is using the volume up and down keys to navigate the menu once it appears.

    Because you cannot get into your device long enough to use the normal menus there, you'll likely have to use the factory data reset choice in the recovery menu.

    Let's see if other ideas come along in the X10 forum where I've moved your question.
     
  5. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    Frisco likes this.
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,478
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    It's too bad the FCs are preventing access to the menus in the phone. Getting to the wireless and networking area would allow unchecking all network and wireless settings, then rebooting, which often washes out the com.android.phone issue.
     
  7. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    Frisco it becomes more and more apparent every day that I actually know so little about Android!
     
  8. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,478
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Well, buy a few, borrow several, and wreck them all. Then fix them.

    You'll learn a lot. That's what I did. :eek:

    :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...