1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HELP! Phone wont turn on

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by whatdidido, May 26, 2011.

  1. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    I rooted my Epic 4g about a month ago... only because I wanted to get rid of the stupid apps that came with the phone. Last night the phone started acting up. It kept freezing and force closing throughout the day. I didn't know what was wrong with it so I tried to unroot it. That failed. Now my phone wont turn on.

    What do I do??? If I take it to Sprint will they be able to see that I rooted it, even though it's not turning on? I'm scared to take it there.

    EDIT: I forgot to mention that it doesn't charge either. The red light does not turn on at all.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    With the phone powered off, can you boot into DL mode (press and hold 1 and the power button)?
     
  3. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    I don't know if I should try that yet because something popped up in the screen. I tried doing a hard reset (?) volume down+power+camera and it didn't do anything. Then I took out the battery and tried turning it on, and a picture popped up. It's a cell phone connected to a yellow triangle sign with an exclamation mark in the middle, then connected to a computer.

    I'm a noob so I would appreciate some patience.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    That's DL mode. That's a good thing then!

    Do you want to keep root or return to stock?
     
  5. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Really? I thought DL was this big yellow triangle and the android guy, and on the bottom it said 'Downloading...'

    What I am talking about is a tiny picture of a phone with an antenna then there's two dots that connect it to a yellow sign and then two dots connecting it to a computer.

    Are they the same?

    I don't know what I should do. I just want it to stop acting crazy. It freezes all the time.
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    Ah, gotcha... I thought that's the one you were explaining.

    Pull the battery, put it back in and try to get to DL mode.


    If that works, use THIS POST to get back to stock. :)
     
  7. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Thank you for helping me through this.

    Anyway, before when I tried getting it back to stock my computer would not recognize my phone while it was in DL mode... What should I do?
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    Was the phone being recognized by Odin?

    Try a different USB port and/or a different cable. Typically the ports on the back of the computer work better. Some people have had lots of problems with the stock cable as well.
     
  9. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Yes. Odin was recognizing it. I tried to go through with the process even if the computer didnt recognize it, but it didnt work.
    I only have this cable. I tried different ports but I'm using a laptop, I don't have a desktop.
     
  10. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
  11. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
  12. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    I actually used one of those videos to unroot it. I don't remember the process it froze at...

    You know the .tar.md5 file in your post? Does it have to be that one? I have another one (SPH-D700-DG27-8Gb-REL.tar), will that work too? That's the one I tried before.
     
  13. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    Any of them (as long as they are for the Epic) will work.

    Try redownloading the .tar file too. It's possible you got a bad DL.

    Don't forget to remove .md5 from the end!
     
  14. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Alright! I'm gonna download it and try again. I'll check back in in a bit. Thanks!
     
  15. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Wow for the past 10 minutes ,almost, Firefox has been scanning the file and it's not starting the download. The size keeps going up as it "scans" and it just says Unknown Time Remaining.

    What does that mean?
     
  16. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    Try it again or try a different source.
     
  17. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
  18. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    Sounds like a solid plan of action. :)
     
  19. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Stuck at Set Up Connection.

    EDIT: Here's a picture of what I get on the screen when I try to turn it on

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    why would you remove the md5 from the end? odin accepts tars and md5 files
     
  21. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823

    Never worked for me leaving it on there.


    OP - I've never seen that one. I'm not sure.
     
  22. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Oh my god. What should I do then? Would it be okay to take it to Sprint and get my replacement??? Is there anyway that I can ruin the phone so that they'll never be able to know that I rooted it?
     
  23. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    Well, we won't support or condone fraud... But that's what I would suggest (taking it to a Sprint store).

    To be sure, you can't enter DL mode or cw recovery?
     
    whatdidido likes this.
  24. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Okay. Do you think they'll know that I rooted it? Also, what do I tell them when I get there? Should I make up a story or just say that it happened randomly?

    I'm not sure what CW recovery is but I can enter DL mode.
     
  25. whatdidido

    whatdidido Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Well I called Sprint's customer service and they're gonna send me a new phone, and then I'll send my old one back to them. Hopefully they wont be able to fix it once they get it.

    Thank you for your help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...