1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Help Please?

Discussion in 'Android Rooting' started by Rustproofcorn, Apr 9, 2016.

  1. Rustproofcorn

    Rustproofcorn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016

    Apr 9, 2016
    13
    4
    26
    So i am pretty new to android. i bought a galaxy tab 4 from att.. soon after i rooted this device and cant remember how. everything worked fine utill i let the battery run out then it said my system software not authorized by att.. i see that is a comon issue so i am trying to unbrick the device. i have downloaded the proper software from sam mobile as well as installed odin v3 10.7.. everytime i try and use odin it fails. i really need help guys.. thanks in advance..
     

    Advertisement

    KOLIO likes this.
  2. Rustproofcorn

    Rustproofcorn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016

    Apr 9, 2016
    13
    4
    26
    i am actually so new to android if someone can even point me to the right forum to post in that would be great. so i am clear i have exhausted the internet looking for a solution. i either dont understand what i have done or the solutions have not worked in my case.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,315
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,315
    36,087
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    When you say Odin fails, does it give you a specific error message or it can't find the tab? If you are getting it into download mode properly, then Odin should have no problem with it.

    There are a few things to try when these get fussy. First, try a different USB cable. Samsung devices are VERY sensitive to connections and a flaky cable can cause all sorts of problems. Also try a different USB port. If you have access to a Windows 7 PC with USB 2.0 ports, that seems to be the most reliable combination. You might also try a different version of Odin. Sometimes newer isn't necessarily better. I think Odin 3v1.85 is still out there.

    A little more information might be helpful as well, such as the rom you were running at the time it failed, which firmware you are trying to install and if you installed a custom recovery.
     
    Mikestony, Jfalls63 and KOLIO like this.
  4. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Just as @lunatic59 stated,Samsung devices can be quite fickle,especially when flashing firmware/etc...

    Give this a read & try it out:
    http://androidforums.com/threads/bricked-my-note5.977594/#post-7163014
    http://androidforums.com/threads/bricked-my-note5.977594/
    Although not the exact device,but,the steps/principles apply.
     
    Mikestony and lunatic59 like this.
  5. Rustproofcorn

    Rustproofcorn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016

    Apr 9, 2016
    13
    4
    26
    I cant explain how nice u are for responding to me...

    Odin starts then says fail. on the device it says sw rev check fail fused 2 Binary 1

    im using the original cable that came with the device. both are brand new i have probably only charged 5-6 times total. i will try a different one tho. i have tried every usb available on the pc. i was using odin 3.10.7 but downloaded the one u suggested but had the same result. if a screen shot helps i can do that.

    how do i know what rom? i dont know what that is. the firmware i first tried my models off of sam mobile website then i used the one from this forum. i have done no custom recovery.

    again thank u so much for the help
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,315
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,315
    36,087
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    From what I can find 'fused 2>Binary 1' indicates that the firmware doesn't pass the verification. This can happen for several reasons. First is trying to flash the wrong firmware for the device. Please if you know, post the exact model of your tab and what you downloaded. Stock roms/versions are not universal. A corrupt download could also cause the problem, but since you say you rooted it as soon as you got it, i fear you replaced the bootloader which is preventing the stock firmware from being loaded. I've seen some fixes for other Samsung devices but haven't found on for the Tab-4 yet.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  7. Rustproofcorn

    Rustproofcorn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016

    Apr 9, 2016
    13
    4
    26
    i know that i did the root stand alone. meaning no computer. and i think it had king in the name. the exact model is sm-t337a its a 8" galaxy tab. the one thing i am fairly sure of is that i have the correct firmware. thats the only thing im sure of.

    thanks again.
     
  8. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    The trouble with AT&T is that they don't like to release their firmware and all Sammobile has is 4.4.2. If you received any updates to higher Android version like 5.0 firmware will be hard to find and Knox won't let you downgrade.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  9. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  10. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  11. Rustproofcorn

    Rustproofcorn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016

    Apr 9, 2016
    13
    4
    26
    how can i tell if i am still rooted? which i am supposing i am. how to i remove the root to try this?
     
  12. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,315
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,315
    36,087
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    if @Rustproofcorn used kingroot or kingoroot to root, then it's unlikely he replaced the bootloader or recovery. A stock solution should work.
     
    Mikestony and KOLIO like this.
  13. Rustproofcorn

    Rustproofcorn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016

    Apr 9, 2016
    13
    4
    26
    how do i tell what firmware is on it? im an idiot. dumb people shouldnt try to root. Rustproofcorn=dumb
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  14. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  15. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Kind of a Catch 22 situation. To remove root you usually boot device and see if the Super User installed has a option to Unroot or flash the stock firmware. In your situation where you you can't boot up or flash back to stock( thanks AT&T), you don't have many choices. You could try and flash the update through recovery since it is still stock as @lunatic59 suggested. Not many options.
     
    Mikestony and KOLIO like this.
  16. Rustproofcorn

    Rustproofcorn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016

    Apr 9, 2016
    13
    4
    26
    flash the update through recovery? where do i do that. im sorry i swear if you guys help me out this once i will never try this again.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  17. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    The way I have did it with other Samsung AT&T devices is to download the update zip onto PC.
    What ever the file is named,rename to "update.zip" without quotes.
    Copy to device external SD card.
    Turn device off then boot into recovery
    Select apply update from external storage
    Select the update.zip that you copied
    Press power to begin update.

    This process works if you know the version you are on and you are applying the next available update . In your case since you don't know your current version it's kind of a roll of the dice. Three things are possible.
    It works
    It fails with a error message and you are back to square one
    It bricks

    As always do at your own risk.
     
    Mikestony, lunatic59 and KOLIO like this.
  18. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    OOPS,sorry 'bout that (booting up is the issue,cart in front of the horse,so to speak),my apologies. :oops: :paperbagdroid:
     
    Mikestony and Jfalls63 like this.
  19. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,804
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,804
    24,470
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    @Rustproofcorn ...don't be so hard on yourself there bud ;) We've all been down that rooting road, borked-device road before.
    You got some good folks here helping you, so no worries :D

    I did get a chuckle out of your post:
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  20. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Yep, two phones and one tablet bit the dust in my hands. Got one last use out of the tablet though. Took it and my AR10 to the rifle range. Tablets make great 100 yrd targets.
     
    KOLIO and Mikestony like this.
  21. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I as well,a couple of times:
    Was fortunate to have someone rescue me on my very 1st smartphone,I'd deleted the entire ROM w/o a back-up.

    History repeated itself on the OPPO N1,but,I was able to load up a ROM on an OTG dongle & fortunately,TWRP picked it up & I was off & running (1st hr w/the phone,had to ditch that awful COLOR O/S for Cyanogenmod)...................
     
    lunatic59, Jfalls63 and Mikestony like this.
  22. Rustproofcorn

    Rustproofcorn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016

    Apr 9, 2016
    13
    4
    26
    ok guys i am currently trying the update via a memory card. i had to go buy one which is why it took so long.
     
  23. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Keeping my fingers crossed .
     
  24. Rustproofcorn

    Rustproofcorn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016

    Apr 9, 2016
    13
    4
    26
    no dice. does this mean i am screwed?
     
  25. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Did it give you a failure message?
     

Share This Page

Loading...