1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

help readying my phone for 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dizzy, May 2, 2010.

  1. dizzy

    dizzy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    53
    0
    15
    So. CA
    Have read some posts about the 2.1 update wiping out the data, etc. and have some questions about readying my Hero for the 2.1 update:

    1) HTC Sync won't install on my system ... how will I install the 2.1 update?

    2) I'm not interested in saving my SMS, MMS logs, call history, etc. ... only a GMail acct is set-up (to activate phone, etc. not used for email) ... all my contacts are "Google" type: do I need to do any sort of backup on this info? How will I get it back again?

    3) Not using any widgets but have customized the home pages ... will all that be lost? Same with system settings?

    4) Have just a few apps, all are freebies, minimal if any data (specialized settings, etc.) associated with these apps ... anything I need to do here?

    Thank you.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    See above in bold :D
     
    dizzy likes this.
  3. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    174
    10
    38
    Northern California
    Re: having to reinstall apps.
    I highly recommend an app called AppBrain.
    It's more useful than the regular Market, but also keeps track of your apps and any necessary updates. By syncing with the appbrain.com site.
    After installing 2.1 you should only have to install the appbrain app, and sync to the website. it'll walk you through reinstalling everything that was on before.
    It's not automatic and you do need to accept each app install individually, but it'll handle the job of prompting you for each app one right after the other.
     
  4. jgert2005

    jgert2005 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    22
    1
    36
    Well put!
     
  5. dizzy

    dizzy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    53
    0
    15
    So. CA
    Kelmar:
    Thanks for addressing each one of my issues.

    RE the HTC Sync issue: I'm using XP Home on an old laptop. I've read every "help" post I can find, tried several times to install Sync but it always fails!

    You stated "...we know Best Buy and Sprint will be able to do the update at their B&M locations." So I'd just take the phone to them? Do I have any other options if I'm unable to use HTC Sync?
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823

    What all have you tried? Which version of sync are you using?


    Correct, you should be able to just take the phone in to them... they may require an appointment, they may not. Unfortunately, all the info we have is leaked, so we just don't know yet. IMO, it's safer to take it to BB or Sprint so that if anything happens to go wrong, they are responsible for it as opposed to you being responsible for it.

    There may be ways to do it without sync (such as throwing the update on the sd card and forcing it that way)... but until the update is out, this is pure speculation of what we should be able to do.
     
  7. dizzy

    dizzy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    53
    0
    15
    So. CA
    Basically, I've done all the advice from HTC (and forum posters) on installation issues including trying two versions of the software (currently v2.0.5) I even tried installing it on a friends system, it worked fine. I wonder if it's incompatible with my older (v1.1) style USB ports.

    Thanks for the info/advice ... sounds like a trip to Sprint or Best Buy (where I bought it) will be in my future.
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    The only version that I was able to get working on mine (win7) was 2.0.33.

    You've tried drivers and all that good stuff?


    I plan on taking mine to BB for that very reason (if they screw up, it's not my fault).
     
    dizzy likes this.
  9. dizzy

    dizzy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    53
    0
    15
    So. CA
    Read about the "drivers" issues but didn't try anything for 2 reasons: 1) XP recognizes the phone (when connected via USB, Device Mgr lists and Android device) and 2) DoubleTwist (media sync app) correctly identifies and works with the phone ... I figured that pretty well ruled-out a drivers issues. Whenever I launch HTC Sync it reoprts: "Unable to create Device Manager Instance." then it opens and shows "disconnected" status.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...