1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HELP Rooting an Enjoy ATV1200 TV box

Discussion in 'TV & Video' started by warrjon, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. warrjon

    warrjon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013

    Jan 29, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    I am new to Android and this forum. So Hi All.

    I recently bought an Enjoy ATV1200 media box to replace my HTPC. One issue I have with it is it's poor user interface. I have to turn the TV on to control the unit.

    I would like to install an app that allows me remote desktop (like Windows VNC). One I have found is Droidmote but this requires root access.

    I have searched now for a couple of days but have been unable to find anything on how to root this device.

    It is running JB 4.1

    thanks Warren
     

    Advertisement

  2. Unforgiven

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,598
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,598
    33,757
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Welcome to Android Forums Warren.:)

    I moved this to the Google TV forum so you can get some better eyes on it.:)
     
  3. warrjon

    warrjon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013

    Jan 29, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks I wasn't sure if I posed in the right section
     
  4. Unforgiven

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,598
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,598
    33,757
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    No worries, its a big forum. You weren't in a bad spot, but I think you'll get better help here.:)
     
  5. Dual_HD

    Dual_HD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011

    Sep 21, 2011
    96
    9
    16
    try xbmc on it, then you will have some fun
     
    warrjon likes this.
  6. warrjon

    warrjon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013

    Jan 29, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    I want to dispose of my HTPC and want to use the Droid with my external HD. As I understand XBMC streams from a NAS or Win PC. Am I correct??
     
  7. warrjon

    warrjon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013

    Jan 29, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    I did some research on XBMC and loaded it on my box - works great and does about 90% of what I was after.
     
  8. DrFroyo

    DrFroyo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    You didnt have the alternative UI on? Otherwise its much the same as any Jellybean tablet or even phone for that matter...

    Im using XBMC for android, so have the best of both worlds.. fully blown media centre which handles all my hd stuff,, and all my apps making my tv smarter! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...