1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help! Screen won't turn Off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Radical-J, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. Radical-J

    Radical-J Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    114
    7
    36
    This is driving me crazy!

    Screen won't turn off when I press the red/end call button after checking the time or wanting to go dark while listening to Pandora. It only

    Any ideas?

    I do not have ATK or similar I do not have Panda Home or similar...

    thanks, everyone!
     

    Advertisement

  2. SITH

    SITH Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    96
    0
    15
    Do you have flashnotify? That was causing the same thing on mine, when I uninstalled it it went away.
     
  3. chibucks

    chibucks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    412
    48
    43
    i know for flashnotify, if you don't go into your dialer and check a missed call, it will keep flashing.

    as for the OP - do you have 'use wireless networks' on under security & locations?
     
  4. SITH

    SITH Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    96
    0
    15
    It did it even after I checked the call. It was driving me nuts.
     
  5. Radical-J

    Radical-J Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    114
    7
    36
    No Flash Notify and Wireless Networks are off...All I am trying to do is save battery and having scree timeout at 8 seconds was also a pain so I set it at minute.

    I have no idea what caused it but it is recent in the last week
     
  6. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    Do you have the app 'spare parts'? If yes, what do you have your 'end button behavior' set as? If no, then get it and check the end button behavior.:)
     
    SarahAnn and jebediahtbone like this.
  7. Radical-J

    Radical-J Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    114
    7
    36
    Nice! That was it my Friend!!! It was set to home...If you ever get close to Jax, FL the first dark beer is on me!
     
  8. RnDad

    RnDad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    HOly hell..... thanks alot critical that was driving me insane. same as you Radical mine was also set to home.... how does it set to that automatically??
    o well good app. thanks again

    ~Boo iphone~~
     
  9. jebediahtbone

    jebediahtbone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Wow! Thank you. This just started happening to me today. What a frustrating event to go through. You saved me from throwing this damned thing against the wall.
     
  10. SarahAnn

    SarahAnn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I was about to lose my mind trying to figure this out! THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!! I had just left the sprint store and REALLY didn't want to go right back. I searched and searched to find this thread but ALAS it was worth it :) :) :)
     
  11. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    724
    48
    88
    Male
    Help Desk Manager
    North Carolina
    My Moment did that one time. Had to pull the battery to get it to stop. I even took it up to the Sprint store just to have them document the issue since the phone is such a POS.
     
  12. NYdroid33

    NYdroid33 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    1
    16
    SJU grad looking for a job
    New York
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-moment/161758-samsung-moment-screen-lock-button-doesnt-work.html

    I started this thread a few months back and got a lot of replies check it out... Doing a factory data reset will easily fix this... just make sure to use mybackup pro and sync all your google stuff

    Spare parts works but that just ignores the issue... eventually the problems on this phone build up over time and unfortunatly for me factory data resets become necessary... But after I do it it orks geat and take me maybe a half hour to reload everything and have it back exactly the way it was

    Also make sure you get the new eclair.dj07 update it works well
     
  13. AKCobra

    AKCobra Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Awesome! Thanks Critical, that was driving me insane. I think I uninstalled like 5 apps looking for the cluprit!
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...