1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help screwed up s-off!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vernave, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. vernave

    vernave Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    84
    3
    16
    Ok, I tried to do S-OFF and i got a message about cannot find beer or something. It exited, and now my phone wont boot. Can someone please help me?

    Edit. It just boots to a pic of a phone with Juopunutbear above it
     

    Advertisement

  2. Subzer0

    Subzer0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    300
    49
    63
    Male
    McCormick, SC
    Just restart controlbear.exe. you didn't screw up. Takes quite a few tries.
     
  3. vernave

    vernave Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    84
    3
    16
    I can get into the white page thing that shows the hboot number, should I do a factory data reset from there?

    edit, nvm just saw yourpost
     
  4. Subzer0

    Subzer0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    300
    49
    63
    Male
    McCormick, SC
    No need to. just run control bear and it will reboot your phone and start the s-off procedure again.
     
  5. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,501
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,501
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    Continue on trying..do not stop.

    I think that's where ppl make a mistake, when they run into trouble there first instinct is to stop..I would keep on running control bear until you are successful.

    My phone stayed on that screen from start to finish
     
  6. Subzer0

    Subzer0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    300
    49
    63
    Male
    McCormick, SC
    Johnny is 100% correct. I kept stopping thinking I may be messing up my phone. Takes persistence and patience. You will get it.
     
  7. vernave

    vernave Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    84
    3
    16
    SUCCESS!! I think I got it anyway. On the first boot, it made an error noise during boot animation,failed to boot, the rebooted just fine. Think this is serious? I installed the JuopunutBear Hboot in case this matters
     
  8. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,501
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,501
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    na doesnt matter..more then likely you will be downgrading to 1.0.4 hboot anyway
     
  9. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,501
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,501
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    congrats by the way
     
  10. Subzer0

    Subzer0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    300
    49
    63
    Male
    McCormick, SC
    Congrats! I agree with Johnny. Downgrade your hboot now. Opens up a whole new world of roms.
     
  11. retromind

    retromind Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    89
    3
    16
    Kudos. This was me yesterday after an hour of trying the wire trick. Hope you backed up your sdcard if not you're gonna have a bad time :)
     
  12. vernave

    vernave Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    84
    3
    16
    Yep made sure to back it up. Also, I am downgrading hboot to 1.4
     
  13. bluefire000

    bluefire000 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012

    Jul 29, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I'm currently in this situation. Multiple attempt to run controlbear only results in "connect device and install drivers"
    I cannot see HTC in Device Manager. I'm stuck, when I try to get into bootloader it gave me a bunch of "no image!" Can anyone help me?
     
  14. nsciucco

    nsciucco Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,374
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    1,374
    290
    163
    Male
    SALES
    MASSACHUSETTS
    Thats why you should always read everything first. not just skim thru it.. in every directions for the S-OFF procedure it clearly states before that you should open CMD and type "adb devices" This will insure your drivers are installed before you start

    you can get the neccasary drivers from downloading HTC sync and installing it... but after you install it you need to go to control panel uninstall htc sync itself. The drivers that you need will be left behind
     
  15. mrawesome22

    mrawesome22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    354
    63
    53
    I'd probably connect device and install drivers then lol.
     
  16. bluefire000

    bluefire000 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012

    Jul 29, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    The device were there at the beginning. Its just half way thru something happened and I had to re-run controlbear and thats when its no longer detecting it. In any case, all is good now.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...