1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HELP! The .596 Doesn't Work For Rooting!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gfsincere, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. gfsincere

    gfsincere Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    Nurse
    Chicago, IL
    I went from the rooted .340 to the 2-part GB and IT WAS NOT ROOTED or anything.

    NO SU access.
    NO root.
    Nothing.

    I have no clue how to get from .340 rooted to a rooted GB so I can use a ROM because frankly, GB runs HORRIBLE on my phone and I really need a ROM on it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Greavous

    Greavous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    589
    67
    98
    Male
    Leather Wheel re-Skinner
    New Braunfels, Texas
    first thing comes to mind is did you DL the correct two files? There was a stock non rooted version as I recall. Maybe double check that and then sbf back to .340 and have a do-over.
     
  3. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
  4. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    Yep, sounds like a do-over to me.
     
  5. gfsincere

    gfsincere Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    Nurse
    Chicago, IL
  6. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    weird, those are the ones I used on mine and they were rooted. What steps did you take to get where yo are now?
    Get a terminal emulator app, and type in "SU" (without the quotation marks)
    it should go from a "$" sign to a "#" sign if you are rooted
     
  7. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    How did you flash these? I thought you didn't have root, therefore no custom recovery? Or did you SBF?
     
  8. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    I'm assuming he SBFd back and redid it, but who knows? Hoping he didn't try to do it via maderscok, that never works for this.
     
  9. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    Can't have used maderstock. Requires root.
     
  10. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    good call, just trying to figure it out with the available info
    ...and aggie, your dog is still freaking me out
     
  11. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    That's what he's there for :p
     
  12. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    damn you, freaky dog!!!!! Why must you torment me? WHY?!?!?!?!
     
  13. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    Honestly there is no way to not have root when flashing the two files after you sbf back to stock froyo. You have to have done something wrong. Did you use the correct sbf file? 2.3.340? You should try sbfing using the linux method. Its possible rsdlite is giving you some sort of hickup.
     
  14. Kirbnite

    Kirbnite Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011

    May 15, 2011
    25
    4
    16
    My suggestion would be to update to 595 from 340. Install Gingerbreak v1.2. Run it. Then install bootstrap and install a deodex zip for 595. Then install the 596 rooted deodexed zip. (Single zip meant for Already on GB.)
     
  15. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD

Share This Page

Loading...