1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help transferring rooted phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fweiss09, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
    I have a rooted evo 4g that was disconnected from the carrier. I'm trying to get service to it for my wife to use. I've activated the phone through the carrier (they recognize the device), but the phone isn't responding to what I'm required to do to activate the phone itself - it claims there is no service.

    Is this possible with the phone being rooted? I'm wondering if I need to unroot for it to access the network.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
    I am rooted but want to give my wife my phone. I activated it through Sprint, but the phone itself isn't "working" (they want me to get into the phone settings to reset the phone by pressing ##786# but when I do, nothing happens).

    Any clue what I might need to do to get this phone activated on her account?
     
  3. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    What rom are you on?
    AOSP roms do not support the ## codes.
    You need a sense rom such as MikG3.11:)
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Merged your one post in another thread into the thread you started:)
     
  5. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
    yes, I figured that's what I needed, a sense rom. I tried to load the Mik rom but it doesn't seem to want to load...phone gets stuck on the reboot screen and never loads.

    I'm running a rom called MazWoz-Evo-B6.

    EDIT: Sorry for double posting...saw this here and thought I'd ask
     
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    No problem:)

    I am not familiar with that rom...but, when you say MikG doesn't load, are you wiping well?
    What recovery do you use?
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  7. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
  8. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    ocnbrze likes this.
  9. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
    OK, thanks!

    Let me ask you this: could I completely delete the SD card and load the Mik rom and "start fresh"? Or is that extreme?
     
  10. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Eh, a little extreme imo.
    You don't want to lose your nandroid backup...I hope you made one:)
    That is stored on the sd card:)
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  11. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    I don't want to sound like a broken record, but, what recovery do you have??? :) :p
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  12. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
    I'm not ignoring you, sorry. Trying to do a few things at once here. How do I check what recovery I'm using?! Terrible question I'm sure - I rooted this phone years ago and found a rom I liked and never played with it again until now. It probably says in the bootloader??
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  13. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    It will say in the recovery screen where you tried to flash MikG.
    Somewhere on that screen it will say "Clockworkmod" or "Amon Ra v2.3" or something like that.
     
  14. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
    Ok give me a few mins. This Butler/Gonzaga game is crazy!
     
  15. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    o.k..well, I'll be signing off in a few but if you have anymore questions, just ask and someone will hopefully see them and help.
    I know this forum is slowing down, but I try to keep an eye on it as well as Ocnbrze and a few others:)

    If you get stuck, you can read thru this guide:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...-rooting-gingerbread-2-3-5-dummies-guide.html

    Obviously you can skip the rooting part. Click on the "show" button under the "HTCDev method" and look at step 3 and look at the "flash a rom"
    That is where I got the MikG rom link.
     
  16. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
    You've been an awesome help!

    Let me ask you this - what does the type of recovery matter? What do I need to do differently based off of the recovery type?
     
  17. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
    OK here's what the phone says

    REVOLUTIONARY
    SUPERSONIC EVT2-3 SHIP S-OFF
    HBOOT-6.16.1002
    MICROP-041f
    TOUCH PANEL-ATMELC03_16ac
    RADIO-2.15.00.0808
    Mar 8 2911, 17:02:15
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  18. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
    Recovery screen says: RA Revamped Build : RA-supersonic-v4.3-smelkusMOD at the bottom

    Does that help??
     
  19. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Because clockwork mod recovery doesn't wipe well... If you have that then wipe 3 times before the rom flash
    And your posted bootloader screen will not say what recovery you have.
    Click on the word recovery in bootloader to get to recovery :)
     
  20. fweiss09

    fweiss09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    18
    8
    16
    well the Mik rom says it can't open (says bad file - weird, didn't say that before)...I'm going to try wiping again and if nothing works I'll try loading a stock rom. My wife doesn't care what operating system is on this, she just wants a phone.

    I'll ask again if I get stuck somewhere.
     
  21. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,226
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,226
    25,474
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Just so we're on the same page here, and I know this is what you have done in the past, as you are familiar with flashing.
    1. Download the rom.zip file and do not extract it.
    2. Check the md5 checksum and see if it matches what is posted at the download site.
    3. Move the rom to your sd card.
    4. Boot into recovery.
    5. Make a nandroid backup.
    6. Wipe the system, boot, data, cache, dalvik. and wipe it 3 times. Just do not wipe the sd card.
    7. Find the option to "flash .zip from sd card" and find the rom
    8. Select the rom.zip and flash it.

    Those are the basics and I just want to make sure we are on the same page.
    Or, like you said, flash a stock, rooted rom that has the options for the ## codes to be utilized.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1671395
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...