1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help ! "Unfortunately, 'xxxx' has stopped working" after 4.3 Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CraigD, Dec 22, 2013.

  1. CraigD

    CraigD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    5
    1
    6
    Any help appreciated.

    Samsung Galaxy S3

    Updated firmware to 4.3 yesterday after phone prompt.
    The update has left me with numerous apps failing.
    Gmail, Google Search, and virtually every Google and Samsung App give a
    "Has stopped working" message, just a few seconds after opening.

    I have tried uninstalling updates, disabling apps, clearing cache, resetting to factory settings etc etc

    Still no joy.
    Any thoughts ??

    Kind Regards
    Craig.
     

    Advertisement

  2. smythcolan

    smythcolan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013

    Dec 15, 2013
    5
    4
    6
    Male
    Northants
    4.3 is an embarrassing disaster for Samsung and unfortunately they will do nothing to help you get your phone working again. If your phone is still under warranty the only solution that worked for me was to send it back through the company i purchased it from (Phones4u) and asked them to revert me back to 4.1.2 which they did. It had to be sent away which took just over a week but i now have a working phone again and will not be updating to 4.3.
    Samsung have decided to take the attitude of couldn't care less if your phone breaks under 4.3 and have lost an awful lot of customers over this, me included.
    Some people say to use Odin to revert back but this will most likely null and void any warranty you may have.
    Only suggestion i can say is to speak to the company you purchased the phone through and see if they can help.
    Good luck.
     
    CraigD likes this.
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    All i can suggest is a factory reset as a last resort. Theres a good chance that will fix it and save you from sending it away :thumbup:
    EDIT oops you did do a reset sorry.
    dammit thats 2ce tonight i havent read a post properly lol.. think im loosin my marbles :D :screwy:
     
  4. TheQuicken

    TheQuicken Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012

    Oct 21, 2012
    59
    19
    18
    Sounds like quite a mess. Quick question though...When you did a factory reset, did you possibly disable some apps. If so, which ones? I am trying to create a list of apps that cause S3 problems wehn they are disabled, but it kind of sounds like you have a whole barrel of issues. If you did not disable any apps,then shame on Samsung. Sorry bro.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    sorry man i missed that you had already done a reset.
    If you send it away the second thing theyll do is reflash it which is something you can do yourself if you want?
     
  6. dmcjr22

    dmcjr22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012

    Jul 13, 2012
    818
    309
    113
    Syracuse Ny
    mydian and funkylogik like this.
  7. CraigD

    CraigD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    5
    1
    6
    Thanks for your reply, as you said, I had tried the factory reset, but still the same problems.
     
  8. CraigD

    CraigD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    5
    1
    6
    I initially done the factory reset, after uninstalling a whole bunch of apps, just in case one of those was causing the problem.
    Also tried disabling all 'Google' based apps, but still various apps, show the "Has stopped working"...
    Then tried, Reset, and reboot, with only Samsung account... (no google login) still the same, "Has stopped working"
    Then tried, Reset, and reboot, with only Google account... (no samsung login) still the same, "Has stopped working"

    Would drive you to drink *sips glass* :)
     
  9. CraigD

    CraigD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    5
    1
    6
    How do I go about doing the reflash ?
     
  10. Deltaze

    Deltaze Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014

    Jul 30, 2014
    2
    0
    5
  11. CraigD

    CraigD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    5
    1
    6
     
    Deltaze likes this.
  12. Deltaze

    Deltaze Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014

    Jul 30, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    My "Local store" is a little bit far (Portugal), but I already solved my problem I'm using 4.2.2 ROM and everything is working again. TY for your help ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...