1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HELP unrooting lg gt540 2.3.4

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by androidboss7, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. androidboss7

    androidboss7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    145
    15
    38
    I rooted my lg gt540 with z4root and now i need to unroot it.
    I did a permanent root and when i go to z4root, i press un-root and it says
    "Completed. Your root should now be completely removed."
    i check it and it still says your phone is rooted.
    Plus the unrooting took like not even 1 second.

    PLEASE HELP ME UNROOT!!!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Delsus

    Delsus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    329
    60
    53
    I think root permissions are built into CyanogenMod 7 so the only way to un root would be to roll back to 2.1, also why do you need to unroot?
     
    androidboss7 likes this.
  3. androidboss7

    androidboss7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    145
    15
    38
    i need to unroot because my wifi isn't working,
    so i can return it and fix it.
    And how do you roll back to 2.1??

    Anyways thank u 4 ur answer.
     
  4. Delsus

    Delsus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    329
    60
    53
    I think you download the 2.1 stock ROM from here http://androidforums.com/optimus-gt540-all-things-root/360816-list-every-rom-available-optimus.html

    Thats from dudeman's post on CM7, never actually done it myself lol
     
    androidboss7 likes this.
  5. androidboss7

    androidboss7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    145
    15
    38
    Thanks dude!!!
    I will try it and report back.
     
  6. androidboss7

    androidboss7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    145
    15
    38
  7. Delsus

    Delsus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    329
    60
    53
    As far as I know there isnt a recovery ROM, but installing the stock 2.1 could wipe fastboot, which could make lg repair it under warrenty, not too sure about that last one though.
     
  8. androidboss7

    androidboss7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    145
    15
    38
    SO is there a way???
     
  9. Phantogenic

    Phantogenic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    299
    67
    73
    Male
    Rotorua, New Zealand
    2.1 can't be done with recovery. As it is an "official" update and Clockwork isn't, Fastboot is your only option for updates by LG.
     
  10. androidboss7

    androidboss7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    145
    15
    38
    I am thinking about updating to 2.3.5
    But when you update to 2.3.5 does it re-root and
    start everything again. because my phone says busy-box
    isn't installed.

    I am thinking installing all over again instead of updating it.
    (Because i have nothing on it)

    Also i realised i don't have market and i can't use root explorer to find it
    because it doesn't work.

    Anyways thanks 4 your help!!!!
     
  11. Delsus

    Delsus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    329
    60
    53
    I have never tried to unroot CyanogenMod, but a fastboot install should give you root permissions again, recovery probably wont give you root permissions because it just writes over the new files rather than the whole operating system.

    You could always try getting root permissions with z4root again.
     
  12. androidboss7

    androidboss7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    145
    15
    38
    Ok..
    I am updating it to 2.3.5 to see if it fixes my problems.

    Hope it does!!!!!
     
  13. Phantogenic

    Phantogenic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    299
    67
    73
    Male
    Rotorua, New Zealand
    Best of luck - let us know how you get on.
     
    androidboss7 likes this.
  14. androidboss7

    androidboss7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    145
    15
    38
    Yes..
    It fixed all my problems now!!!!
    Thank you everyone for your help.
    I am using 2.3.5 and i have no problems now.

    Thank you!!!!
     
  15. Delsus

    Delsus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    329
    60
    53
    Glad we could help :)
     
    androidboss7 likes this.
  16. lunatic4free

    lunatic4free Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    crozg
    androidboss7, same problem here. but, after updating on 2.3.5. So, u dont have any problems after insatling ginger 2 3 5? i had 2.3.2 with wifi. now when i turn it,wifi force close. any ideas?
     
  17. androidboss7

    androidboss7 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    145
    15
    38
    yeah, after updating everything works fine.
    flash 2.3.5 cyan using the new method, it is easier!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...