1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help, Update not working!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by celticfc482, May 27, 2011.

  1. celticfc482

    celticfc482 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    54
    1
    16
    When i go to update it says 2.3 is available, I have now dowloaded and installed twice now, but each time when i check to see if its installed it still says 2.2.1

    Any idea how i can get it to work?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,983
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,983
    25,397
    3,933
    Male
    First question I have is: are you rooted? If so, have you deleted any system apps or bloat? If you do you have to replace them to get the update to fly.
     
  3. celticfc482

    celticfc482 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    54
    1
    16
    Nope not rooted, normal branded T mobile phone i think
     
  4. murzz

    murzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    461
    80
    63
    Male
    Civil Servant
    Edinburgh
    Have you checked with any other celtic fans to se if they can get the update. It may be a conspiracy;)
     
  5. celticfc482

    celticfc482 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    54
    1
    16
    Your too funny :cool:

    Anyone got an idea?
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    I know from a conversation with a member of the Orange data services team that a number of checks are carried out when the update is downloaded to see if it is installable.

    The first is the software version, then it looks at the various pieces of software already on the phone. If stock apps are corrupted/changed (or removed) in a way the update doesn't like or doesn't recognise, it won't install. I'm not sure if it will work, but the only thing I can suggest is a factory reset which will restore all the apps bundled with the stock ROM to their default status, once completed, check for the update again and see if that does the trick.

    You'll also lose user data so you may want to back stuff up first.
     
  7. celticfc482

    celticfc482 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    54
    1
    16
    Thanks, whats the easiest way to backup my data?
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    What are you looking to back up?

    The majority of stuff, (contacts etc) are backed up to the google account you used to setup your handset. You can check this by accessing the contacts section of your gmail account via a PC, if the numbers there correspond to your phone book, you're sorted. Likewise, apps you have installed via the market should automatically come with you as the'yre tied to your google account. Again, you can check online here. All pics, vids etc. are on the SD Card so you wouldn't need to worry about them, but if you want to be sure, you'd take the SD Card out when resetting.

    If you can't see the contacts via your gmail account, follow these instructions and that should ensure contacts are backed up.

    If you want to back up SMS etc, they can be done with this, but there are plenty of alternatives on the market.

    You won't be able to save app data unfortunately unless you're rooted.

    Let me know if there's anything else you want/need backed up and I'll have a dig about to see if there is any way of doing so.
     
  9. celticfc482

    celticfc482 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    54
    1
    16
    Thanks mate, got it to work after a factory reset

    cheers for your help
     
  10. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    Glad you sorted it :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...