1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HELP us relatated to codecs.

Discussion in 'Computers' started by kchaudhari369, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. kchaudhari369

    kchaudhari369 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi,
    I want to know wheather it is possible to modify the audio and video codec on android. If possible then how is it done.
     

    Advertisement

  2. prodigi

    prodigi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    5
    0
    25
    currently studio guitarist, music producer
    pennsylvania
    thats a good question......i hope someone replies to this because i don't even know what codecs we're using on our phones, which brings an interesting question to my mind. are the codecs different on the other manufacturers droids the same as moto's? i'm sure it's possible to change them if there's an A/V app at the market. i'm running linux on my laptop and i'm forever changing codecs for my assorted amount of a/v players.....
     
  3. xjestersdeadx

    xjestersdeadx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    166
    13
    58
    This is a very complicated question. In short, the codecs are built into the core code. You can't change them without modifying it (reinstalling the OS after its modified).

    Apps like RockPlayer Base on the market get around this by running a modified version of something like FFMPEG that runs on top of the OS. This is why playing other codecs than the ones "built in" are often laggy.

    For phones that play other codecs that are not in the standard Android Developer SDK, they have built those into the OS.

    Hope this is a start to answer your question. This is one reason I think why Google has taken on their new video codec, which will be free of any licensing issues.

    By the way, the built in codecs for Android are listed here:
    http://developer.android.com/guide/appendix/media-formats.html
     
  4. hiteck

    hiteck Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    I think you can not make support one file format with other codec. Do you want to do so?
     
  5. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    673
    57
    98
    Student
    Southampton, England
    I think if you need to ask how to do it, it's probably too complicated for you.

    I assume you want to know how so you can use FLAC files or other less commonly supported formats? Your best bet is to contact a ROM maker and ask them if they can add it into the next build, if possible.
     

Share This Page

Loading...