1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help w Trying To OTA UPDATE My Rooted Razr Today

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bionicchronic, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. bionicchronic

    bionicchronic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I have a rooted droid razr. I have the stock rom with the Go Launcher Ex.

    Do I have to do anything besides unfreeze the bloatware to accept the OTA update?

    Do I have to unroot my phone?

    Thanks. I delayed the update another hour.
     

    Advertisement

  2. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI

    First off, it's not ICS it's an update to gingerbread. Second, as long as you haven't made any system changes (it sounds like you haven't) it should install with just unfreezing the apps. You'll probably want to run ota rootkeeper before the update.
     
    trophynuts and bionicchronic like this.
  3. bionicchronic

    bionicchronic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    ahh... thank you for the info. I am not well versed in this area.
     
  4. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    OP would you mind changing the title to this thread and take out "ICS"? Thanks.
     
  5. bionicchronic

    bionicchronic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    6
    0
    5
  6. ffeatccn

    ffeatccn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    I'm also rooted but haven't been messing with anything system wide that I can think of. When I go to manually update to 6.12.181 from the OTA it gives me a box that reads "Check for update is not available at this time. Try again later." Is anyone else having this trouble? Is the OTA sniffing for something special on my device before it will let me update?
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,818
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,818
    4,746
    823
    It may just be that it's not available for your phone yet.

    Have you ever used Cheesecake? Try rebooting the phone, sometimes that's all it needs.
     
  8. ffeatccn

    ffeatccn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    I am not using Cheesecake (never heard of it- is it in the Market? I'll go check) but I reboot several times a week and haven't gotten anything through.
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,818
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,818
    4,746
    823
    Don't use cheesecake!!

    I'd give it a few days. My wife just got the update about an hour ago while I had the update the day it became available.
     
  10. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    the ota will also not work if you have safestrap or cwm installed, as i found in my case...
     
  11. Bodycount

    Bodycount Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    507
    90
    78
    Male
    Columbus, OH
    I had several apps frozen using titantium (free version).

    NFL, MOG, Netflix, Slacker, Slingbox, Verizon Video (doesn't work if you're rooted so I froze it), VPN, VZ Navigator, Amazon Kindle.

    My update went fine. I didn't even unroot the phone first.

    I did lose root after the update but with the Motofail root app, I got it right back.
     
  12. ffeatccn

    ffeatccn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    After several more days I'm still not getting anything from the OTA menu other than "Check for update is not available." Is anyone else still getting this message? Why isn't it telling me that I'm up-to-date instead?
     
  13. Chi-TownTx

    Chi-TownTx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    180
    41
    43
    I get the unable to connect to Motorola Services when i try to do it but honestly not sweating it. Have heard a lot of mixed reviews on the latest ota and as it stands with what i have frozen and how my phone is now everything runs like a dream. If it ain't broke don't fix it.

    That being said if you really must have it working then just use matt's tool. Easy enough to find just google it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...