1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help! WIFI issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by The_Billman, May 29, 2011.

  1. The_Billman

    The_Billman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    20
    0
    35
    Columbus, Ohio
    I am running Kings UNleashed Ultra Blakk R5, Rooted using the XDA procedure to root. I flashed Kings UNleashed Ultra Blakk R5, everythings moves at the speed of light and everything works EXCEPT I cannot scan for WIFI networks. Does anyone have any suggestions or help on this one?:mad:
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,437
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    can you detect any wifi networks running?
     
  3. The_Billman

    The_Billman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    20
    0
    35
    Columbus, Ohio
    NO, just an error saying "unable to scan for networks"
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,437
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    try wiping cache and dalvik cache. if it still saying that then check your router. you can also check how strong your wifi signal is coming from the router by downloading a wifi analyzer app. i know that certain parts of my house the signal is weak. sometimes it is due to the fact that the signal is competing with other signals.
     
    The_Billman likes this.
  5. lesawag

    lesawag Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    268
    26
    43
    Maintaining peace in my world
    Austin Texas
    I got the same error on Kings r5, but my error was related to the netarchy havs more SBC kernel. When I went back to stock kernel my wifi worked again.
     
    The_Billman and ocnbrze like this.
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,437
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    +1 to lesawag. some kernels could cause that as well. what kernel are you on?
     
    The_Billman likes this.
  7. The_Billman

    The_Billman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    20
    0
    35
    Columbus, Ohio
    was using the netarchy toasty kernel. went back to stock, and it took right off! Thanks guys!
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,437
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    nice glad it worked for you. out of curiosity which netarchy toastmod kernel was it?
     
    The_Billman likes this.
  9. The_Billman

    The_Billman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    20
    0
    35
    Columbus, Ohio
    netarchy toastmod stable 4.3.1
     
  10. The_Billman

    The_Billman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    20
    0
    35
    Columbus, Ohio
    There was another rom I flashed that everything worked except the mail on the home screen. It was pretty weird. On another note the Kings UNleashed Ultra Blakk R5 ROM, on the swype keyboard, the letters "Z" & "Y" are transposed when using caps.
     
  11. ndh777

    ndh777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    885
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Go back to the place on XDA forums that you downloaded the ROM from and read through the instructions. Often times, there will be some patches that need to be made manually for whatever reasons.

    A zip file should be there or something about changing a text to fix one or more of your issues. I'm assuming you know how to add zips to your already existing ROM.

    EDIT: Oops lol didn't see that you already solved the problem :)
     
    The_Billman likes this.
  12. The_Billman

    The_Billman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    20
    0
    35
    Columbus, Ohio
    I found the problem. I was trying to flash the radios first then the ROM. I did the opposite and flashed the ROM, rebooted then flashed the radio. Kings Unleashed Ultra Blakk R5 is working FANTASTIC!!!!
     
  13. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Hmm shouldn't have actually mattered but glad it worked. King has some great roms.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...