1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help with aligning FAT32

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by arkazain, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. arkazain

    arkazain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    142
    6
    56
    Right, so I'm following this guide, which was recommended by baadnwz, but I'm having a little trouble, specifically this part:

    I can't find any good guides, and I honestly have no idea of what to do, so if anyone can help me, or just point me to a good guide, that would be great!
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    If you use gparted to create your partitions, it aligns them automatically.
     
    arkazain likes this.
  3. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,543
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    Damn!! Beat me to it!! :p
     
  4. arkazain

    arkazain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    142
    6
    56
    Yeah, but I already have an EXT4 partition, can I somehow un-partition it and start over?
     
  5. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,543
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    Sure thing, just start over again.
     
    arkazain likes this.
  6. arkazain

    arkazain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    142
    6
    56
    So I should just use Gparted as if this is my first time partitioning my SD card?
    What will happen to the old partition?
     
  7. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,543
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    ^^^^
    I've never had to do it yet, so I really don't know.
     
  8. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    When you load the GPartEd Live CD and connect your phone (I'd use a card reader personally) you'll see the current layout. You can either delete all partitions and start again or drag the EXT partition larger/smaller and convert to EXT4 if you want to. You can do anything!
     
  9. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,715
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,715
    326
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Deleting partitions will........ delete them! All data on those partitons will be lost so make back ups if you need to.

    In Gparted just select the drive your working on, select the partition, select delete. If you have another patition to delete just reeat the step, then go to I think edit and apply, this will perform the selected actions. then select new partition, size, ntfs, fat32 etc. apply again.

    Lecter or Hardon or someone who knows their stuff around here has a guide, have a look in some siggies.
     
    arkazain likes this.
  10. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,543
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    Yeah, it's in my sig.
     
    arkazain likes this.
  11. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,715
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,715
    326
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Sorry Lecter I couldn remember where I'd seen it. I'm actually going to watch it now, after I've made a cup of tea.
     
  12. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,543
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    It's pretty good. brb, making some tea also! ;)
     
  13. arkazain

    arkazain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    142
    6
    56
    Instead of using a live CD, can I just use the Ubuntu app Gnome Partition Editor?
     
  14. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,543
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    I have no idea, sorry.
     
  15. arkazain

    arkazain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    142
    6
    56
    This is its description:

    "GParted uses libparted to detect and manipulate devices and partition tables while several (optional) filesystem tools provide support for filesystems not included in libparted."

    So basically, this would be GParted in an application instead of a live CD, so this should work right?
     
  16. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,715
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,715
    326
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    I think its pretty much the same thing being Linux. You don't need to make a CD you can easile make a bootable Flashdrive also.
     
    arkazain likes this.
  17. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,715
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,715
    326
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Its good, but I lost audio 51 seconds down the timeline. :(
     
  18. arkazain

    arkazain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    142
    6
    56
    Okay, I'm gonna try the app and see how it goes.
     
  19. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,543
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    There is none but bubbles instead. ;)
     
  20. arkazain

    arkazain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    142
    6
    56
    At 7:04 in your video, you put 1348, what should I put?
    I have a 4 GB card.

    Edit:
    Should I put 3584?
    4096-512=3584
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    512 or 1024. Depends what you think you'll need
     
  22. arkazain

    arkazain Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    142
    6
    56
    I'm at the part where I specify the size of the FAT32 partition.
     
  23. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,715
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,715
    326
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Specify what you think you'll need! just over 3Gb as you have a 4 Gb card, fill the rest with ext.
     
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Well take 512 or 1024 (depending on what size ext you need) from 4096 and make the answer the size of your fat.

    Well take it from 4000 as a 4GB card isn't actually 4GB
     
  25. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,543
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    DON'T make an ext more than 2gb!!!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...