1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help with cwm

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tjohnson042110, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. Tjohnson042110

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    36
    7
    16
    monroe, wi
    I just got my replacment phone and i was wondering if there is a flashable zip for cwm. Any information would really help out. Oh yeah and i dont have access to a computer otherwise i would take that route
     

    Advertisement

  2. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    No. You need to already have cwm installed before you can flash different versions.

    If you just got a new phone, then you'll need to install cwm the old-fashioned way.
     
  3. Tjohnson042110

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    36
    7
    16
    monroe, wi
    Thank you. I might be mistaken butithought i read somewhere that you can use terminal emulator. But i cant find that thread. Sorry im new to all this
     
  4. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
  5. rukin5197

    rukin5197 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    You can do it through terminal emulator?
    Just put flash_image and the recovery image in your root of sd card and go into terminal emulator and type this (Make sure you have # not $)
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. flash_image recovery /mnt/sdcard/recoveryname.img
    3.  
    and that will flash it
     
    Tjohnson042110 and agentc13 like this.
  6. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I am sure you need to be rooted for that, or am I mistaken? I haven't seen that method listed here yet. Often times is it easier to just put it in download mode and flash (without having to root the phone first). But that is good to know.
     
  7. rukin5197

    rukin5197 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Ah you're right. The part about the # and $ is a matter of root or not.
     
  8. CornfedChris

    CornfedChris Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    105
    93
    73
    IT
    Omaha, NE
    Sweet. I did not know that either.

    -Side note- Gannon, your link is broken in your sig. Just thought I'd let ya know.
     
  9. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    I think it might be possible since you can get root access through the terminal emulator... So say you get root access through the terminal emulator then run that through terminal emulator you would have CWMR and be able to unroot and flash superuser and have superuser root and CWMR all without a computer...
     
  10. Tjohnson042110

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    36
    7
    16
    monroe, wi
    How do i put flash_image and recovery image on the root of tge sd card. Is the recovery image recovery.img. and do i input recoveryname.img or replace recoveryname with the recovery.img file. If that makes any sense. Im trying to learn as much as i can. Thanks everyone for the help
     
  11. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Follow the step by step instructions in either of the guides I linked, they will be easiest for you I think.
     
  12. Tjohnson042110

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    36
    7
    16
    monroe, wi
    Okay i gor access to a computer and saved the recovery.img file on the desktop but when i try to boot into download mode the phone just boots up normally. I also cant get to the android stock recovery
     
  13. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Make sure the phone is not plugged into your computer.

    Then try pressing the volume down (and hold it), then the power button.
     
    Tjohnson042110 likes this.
  14. Tjohnson042110

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    36
    7
    16
    monroe, wi
    Yeah its not plugged in but ill try pressing the buttons like you said thanks
     
  15. Tjohnson042110

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    36
    7
    16
    monroe, wi
    Sweet, it worked. Thanks for all your help. I finally have minimal triumph again
     
  16. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Cool glad to help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...