1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help with cyanogenmod

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fullbloodedmut, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. fullbloodedmut

    fullbloodedmut Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    516
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    516
    119
    103
    Male
    pro-bono 2nd hand at home i.t
    Florida
    i was 0n cyanogenmod 10.2-20131203 nightly grouper-cm_grouper-userdebug 4.3.1 jls36I,well i noticed that there was a new update for it,so i downloaded it and it ended up bootlooping the cyanogenmod guy and i thought maybe it takes a little more time,well when i woke up,still bootlooping,so i ended up starting allover,updating to 4.4 unrooting then rerooting and tried diff cyanogenmods with 2012-2013 gapps,but then it boots up and the asop keyboard wont work,cant log into anything,i was able to install swift key,but after all said n done,i end up with maybe 16 apps from the rom.so my question is 4.3.1 jls36i is not a coice, what android version do i need to use with wugs tool to be able to flash the correct cyan and gabbs to get bk to cyanogenmod 10.2-20131203 nightly grouper-cm_grouper-userdebug 4.3.1 jls36I,i had my nexus 7 wifi 2012 setup to my likens,now i cant get gabbs n cyan to go hand in hand,any links or help on how to gt it bk up n running.what am i doing wrong,i ve used the cyan sytem upate before n never ran into this bfore,ps i like cyan because i can use barnacle to tether with no probs,help lol :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. WoohooGuy

    WoohooGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    460
    288
    118
    Male
    woodworking
    boston ma
    You should always have viable data backups before flashing, rooting, or updating devices. A nandroid backup saves a lot of frustration in the event something goes wrong.

    Have you tried flashing the desired flavor of Cyanogen and then immediately performing a device reset?

    Anytime you flash a new rom you should boot into the recovery of your choice -

    Wipe data factory reset
    Wipe cache partition
    Wipe Dalvik

    The above steps ensure that everything is clear so your new rom can begin rebuilding all the data from scratch.

    You should not need to reflash any factory image in order to start over with Cyanogen, you just need the proper release for the device and flash the zip file using Wug's NRT or the recovery of your choice like TeamWin Recovery (TWRP) or ClockworkMod Recovery (CWM). Either of those can be flashed via Wugs as well, i personally recommend TWRP.

    Pick your flavor of Cyanogen from here - CyanogenMod Downloads

    If you are not going to be diligent with device backups then I highly suggest you opt for CyanogenMod 10.2.0 stable. Nightly builds can be buggy and there is always the possibility it crashes/loops your device.

    Pick the proper version of Gapps you need from here - Google Apps - CyanogenMod

    You must use the proper version of Gapps that corresponds directly to the version of Cyanogen you are using. If you decide to use 10.2 stable then grab the 10.2 Gapps package.

    If you can get the device to boot far enough where it becomes recognized by the computer then you can flash the zip files under NRT advanced utilities.

    If you have an OTG cable you can put the files on a USB drive and flash them using your recovery.

    If you can boot the tablet fine then you can move them to the tablet memory and once again flash using your recovery.

    Flash the CM zip file first.
    Follow the directions above and reset the device/wipe the caches in recovery
    Flash the gapps zip

    All should be well at that point, if anything else goes wrong you should consider using NRT's full stock and lock option, then start over. Be warned, using this option will totally wipe the device.
     
    funkylogik and fullbloodedmut like this.
  3. fullbloodedmut

    fullbloodedmut Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    516
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    516
    119
    103
    Male
    pro-bono 2nd hand at home i.t
    Florida
    thank you woohoo ,i do hac sum backups but of all the backups,not of the one i needed lol lesson learned lol,see i updated to the lastest kit kat 4.?? and then rooted my fone, i thought you had to be on 4.3,4.2.2 or one of them that went along with the android version,i found a thread about 10.2-20130815,and it had the link for the gapps to go with it,gapps-full-4.3-2013.so now that im on android version 4.4.2 rooted,i just need to make a bkup then flash cm 10-2,and reboot wait for it to load then flash the gapps?then reboot again n go from there?by all means if im wrong plz point me to the correct way,see ive bn redoin my fone and not really done much to nexus,cause in my eyes the nexus was setup to my standards,i washappy with it,now ive got to start all over to gt where it was lol fun fun fun,thanks for the quick reply,but like i said ive got cm 10-2 20130815-18,and gapps -full--4-3-2013 downloaded,which the thread said theses go hand in hand,thank you again!!
     
  4. WoohooGuy

    WoohooGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    460
    288
    118
    Male
    woodworking
    boston ma
    I just want to clarify that the links I provided are for the Nexus 7 Grouper wifi tablet.

    If your device is different or if it is the mobile data version then the files you need may be different. Please verify what device you have before using the files linked to above.

    Otherwise using NRT or TWRP/CWM recovery

    Flash the CM 10.2 package.
    Boot into/remain in recovery and perform a factory reset. TWRP will do this all in one step under "Wipe" option.
    Flash the Gapps package
    Reboot tablet
     
    fullbloodedmut likes this.
  5. fullbloodedmut

    fullbloodedmut Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    516
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    516
    119
    103
    Male
    pro-bono 2nd hand at home i.t
    Florida
    thanks for the head up,but i do have to say that makin sure its for the nexus i have is one of the main things i check but sumtime i slip up lol well so far its rooted n flashed with the 2 i mentioned n now setting up thing,so ,so far no probs,thanks a mllion,if it does start acting up,ill b going right bk to this thread ,bet ur a#@ on that ! lol :)
     
  6. WoohooGuy

    WoohooGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    460
    288
    118
    Male
    woodworking
    boston ma
    Be sure to use NRT's or the TWRP nandroid backup feature once you have everything setup just the way you like it.

    A nandroid backup is like a time machine for your device, once restored if needed it takes your device right back to the moment you made the nandroid.

    All your apps, how your device looks, and where your icons are go right back to the moment you made the nandroid.

    Combine a nandroid with more recent app data backups from apps like Titanium Backup or Helium and you have a complete restoration system in place that is hard to beat and easy to implement.

    Always be sure to store your nandroid and other app data backups off the device whenever possible.
     
    funkylogik and fullbloodedmut like this.
  7. fullbloodedmut

    fullbloodedmut Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    516
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    516
    119
    103
    Male
    pro-bono 2nd hand at home i.t
    Florida
    i thought i posted what nexus i had in the very first thread ( i had my nexus 7 wifi 2012 ) i can see howw it could get over looked,i went bk eoto see if i did post which nexus i have,and i saw that i did,ive learned to post important info like that so people would have a idea of what is being discussed,thanks for the help!!! ps my cm updates under settings will not post any new stable,nightlyies,or any new or old available updates?
     
  8. WoohooGuy

    WoohooGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    460
    288
    118
    Male
    woodworking
    boston ma
    As long as you do not change any settings under the Cyanogen updater then you will only receive stable releases of CyanogenMod, if they release any stable versions at all.

    As long as Cyanogen is doing everything you expect it to then be happy.

    If you are not prepared by performing daily backups of your data then you should never be part of a nightly release channel as you can, and should expect, your phone or tablet is gonna be FUBAR the next morning you wake up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...