1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support help with dictionary

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by well_armed, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. well_armed

    well_armed Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    I have words in my dictionary that I want to remove, like "git". I checked my user dictionary but its not there. Can anyone else point me to where I can remove this entry?

    Also, when typing "Yahoo", the suggestions have a bunch of asian characters next to "Yahoo". Does anyone know how to fix this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    I can only think they wouldn't be there if you are using a replacement keyboard that maintains a different dictionary.
     
  3. jonhoglund

    jonhoglund Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    70
    3
    16
    I have a similar issue, the first thing that comes up for me(i use the phone keypad/t9 style most of the time) when i want to type "as" it defaults to "ar" and thats with the stock keyboard and cna't figure out how to get rid of this....PLEASE HELP!!!
     
  4. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,517
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,517
    7,962
    1,453
    Male
    Systems Administrator
    Northern Ky
    This ticks me off something fierce. All kinds of words that default with a 's' on the end.
     
  5. jonhoglund

    jonhoglund Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    70
    3
    16
    Bump for help neeeded, so tired of saying "ar" instead of "as"
     
  6. olbriar

    olbriar  
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,973
    Posts:
    17,423
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    17,423
    12,745
    1,973
    Male
    Land of Oz
    apps>settings>language & keyboard>touch input>user dictionary>ar

    hilite ar... backspace ar off and it's no longer in your list of user defined words. You can add and edit all you want. If you are like me... I need to clean up my list every month or so. Hope this is what you were needing.
     
    jonhoglund and NightAngel79 like this.
  7. jonhoglund

    jonhoglund Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    70
    3
    16
    OH MY GOD I feel so stupid for not having figured that out, but i d don't care cause i'm soooo damn happy. THANKS!!!!
     
  8. olbriar

    olbriar  
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,973
    Posts:
    17,423
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    17,423
    12,745
    1,973
    Male
    Land of Oz
    If you type as poorly as myself... you'd have figured it out long ago lol.
     

Share This Page

Loading...