1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help with fonts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fmariea, Sep 13, 2018.

  1. fmariea

    fmariea Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #514
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018

    Sep 11, 2018
    12
    5
    26
    Female
    New York
    I have the note 9 and I was using fonts by using substratum and andromeda. I changed the font twice and now the list of fonts no longer show up. I didnt do anything differently than the first 2 times I used it. I installed the overlay and reboot. Nothing there except stock fonts. Any idea whats happening?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,735
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,735
    24,326
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Try to enable the overlay via the "manager" tab in substratum instead of the "build and enable" option in the fonts overlay. :eek: I hope that made sense :)
     
    lunatic59, fmariea and marctronixx like this.
  3. fmariea

    fmariea Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #514
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018

    Sep 11, 2018
    12
    5
    26
    Female
    New York
    I understood and it worked. Thanks.
     
    Mikestony and marctronixx like this.
  4. kokiangel

    kokiangel Android Expert
    Rank:
     #82
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,302
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,302
    692
    253
    Female
    Banker
    Helena, Alabama
    I have a Note8 instead of a Note9 but thank goodness for substratum and andromeda! I hated the boring stock fonts!
     
    fmariea and Mikestony like this.
  5. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,735
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,735
    24,326
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Speaking of fonts, what fonts are you using? Are different font packages for certain devices I assume, as overlays can be?
     
  6. kokiangel

    kokiangel Android Expert
    Rank:
     #82
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,302
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,302
    692
    253
    Female
    Banker
    Helena, Alabama
    I installed the Wings XDA 968 fonts-Oreo apk today. I got tired of redoing everything every time I rebooted my phone and just went with the adb fastboot version. I can live with duplicate fonts in my list just as long as they work. My current font of choice is Sharkywaters.

    I need to revise my above post...I thought back to the last time I changed my font and realized that even the adb method doesn't hold past a reboot now. But I can still use it to install and change my fonts. I like to reboot my phone once a week to keep it clean so I will just add this extra step to my routine to be sure I can continue to change my font should I want to on a whim.
     
    fmariea and Mikestony like this.
  7. fmariea

    fmariea Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #514
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018

    Sep 11, 2018
    12
    5
    26
    Female
    New York
    The wings pack

    EDIT:

    It quit working again
    I dont know what I'm doing wrong...

    It went back to not showing the fonts. I'm confused now.

    So you did it on the computer? I did mine on my phone by using the apps. Now it's not showing the fonts again. I dont know what I'm doing wrong or maybe not doing...
     
  8. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,735
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,735
    24,326
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Substratum is odd sometimes. For me, after a reboot, I need to enable the overlays I had before. Annoying yes, but I don't reboot but once a week
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  9. fmariea

    fmariea Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #514
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018

    Sep 11, 2018
    12
    5
    26
    Female
    New York
    I got it to work again. Its finicky. I dont reboot often either. I used to once a day but this note 9 is very efficient.
     
    marctronixx and Mikestony like this.

Share This Page

Loading...